Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

New Gs 450 6000 Mile Update

Well I’ve now completed just short of 6000 hectic miles in the 3 months I owned the car so I thought I would give an update. Some background first. Obviously I am a high mileage driver and cover around 25000 miles per year minimum depending on circumstances. I have owned a total of 5 Lexus cars over the years including IS 250/300, GS 300 and RX450. What I am looking for is a comfortable long distance cruiser and on this point the Lexus doesn’t disappoint.

Performance.

Most of my driving is at 70/80 on a motorway and at these speeds the car is very refined and quiet. But you also have the reserve of power to overtake safely when needed. Where the car does really well though is on A/B roads where the performance is superb. I regularly travel 40 miles or so on an A road from the motorway to home which has its fair share of Lorries, caravans and tractors. The way you can safely overtake is simply superb. The power just keeps coming and you can overtake quickly and safely with the minimum of fuss. Whatever the situation, putting your foot down gives you the confidence to overtake slower traffic with no drama. Truly superb performance and a firm 10 out of 10. The engine has not used any oil in 6000 miles.

Fuel consumption.

This to me is one of the strong points. Journeys around town when using the hybrid motor shows 42-45mpg with ease on the dash. Motorway cruising at 70/80 shows low to mid 30’s depending on how often you use your right foot. Although fuel consumption has increased slightly with the colder weather overall consumption measured by actual fuel used has come out at 38.6 mpg. To me this is excellent when you consider that it is a 3.5 litre engine with £125 road tax. I have no doubt you could better this with more careful driving but I have no desire to do so.

Comfort/Build quality/toys