Maz
Nov 16 2008, 02:54 PM
Hi guys, need some advices for my nephew, hes getting a invoice of £49.99 from a company called Plattemedia (www.plattemedia) after clicking a pop up that popped everytimes he use his internet the last few days, it said that he had signed up for one of the site from this company, but my nephew had no ideas which site, in fact he dont even remember if he had signed up for any site at all, im worry this maybe a scam, does anyone here heard or know of this company? what kind of site do they operate? i can check what site my nephew may have signed up without knowing it from their website, but he had to download more program into his pc, which i dont like the ideas, so any advices with be very grateful.
Regards
Maz
Steviewevie
Nov 16 2008, 03:12 PM
Yeah it's malware/spyware/etc.
Get your nephew to run a malware/spyware/adware scanner, something like
Ad-Aware, and hopefully that will get rid of it.
Maz
Nov 16 2008, 03:25 PM
Cheer Steviewevie, downing the Ad-Aware program now for him...
Steviewevie
Nov 16 2008, 03:26 PM
Let us know how you get on. If Ad-Aware can't shift it, there are other similar programs out there that you can try.
Steve ( West Mids )
Nov 16 2008, 03:28 PM
Look here:
http://www.plattemedia.com/and here:
http://mbsvictims.org.uk/index.php?PHPSESS...o&board=3.0So it seems like you don't have to give them any details to register .........
Andy-r
Nov 17 2008, 01:52 PM
Might be worth downloading a pop-up blocker aswell.
Maz
Nov 18 2008, 12:05 AM
QUOTE (Steviewevie @ Nov 16 2008, 03:26 PM)

Let us know how you get on. If Ad-Aware can't shift it, there are other similar programs out there that you can try.
Sorry for the late reply matey, yes Ad-Aware manage to remove it, so now i have a copy of Ad-Aware on all my PCs and nephew PC and even sister-inlaw PC also, hehe
Thank for the advices guys...