Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Sat Nav Upgrade - A Bit Puzzled And Need Help/clarification
Lexus Owners Club > Lexus Models > Lexus GS 300 / Lexus GS 250 / Lexus GS 430 / Lexus 450h / Lexus GS 460 Club
SourChocolate
Hello,

Currently I have 86271-53030 disk in my sat-nav (GS 300, 06 reg). I wanted to update it to the most recent version. I have done my homework and found out the current version is the 4-disk one coded as PZ485-X03EU-09. Just to confirm - is it the right one for this model?

Many people recommend getting it from this website - http://www.lexus-mapupdates.eu/
I have almost ordered it but having experienced issues with this type of purchase before (i.e. incorrect version ordered) I started looking for any sort of contact details on this website and who runs it. Apparently, there are number of broken links and when going to the following section:
Contact us -> I already ordered.. -> I did receive... -> I want a refund

there is a nice "Refund procedure":
"Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris..."


I couldn't find any contact detail or phone number. I'm a bit puzzled if it's genuine and whether there is any customer service behind it? How do I contact them in case of any questions/problems especially that I'm not sure if this is the right product for my satnav?

Any advice on this would be much appreciated...

Regards,
S.
reeves1985
the ste is definately genuine a lot of members reccoment you to buy from there so i wouldnt worry about it being dodgy

out of interest what version are you currently running?
SourChocolate
[quote name='reeves1985' date='03 August 2010 - 11:53 PM' timestamp='1280876038' post='728435']
the ste is definately genuine a lot of members reccoment you to buy from there so i wouldnt worry about it being dodgy

out of interest what version are you currently running?
[/quote]

Thanks. I'll give it a go then.
Currently I have 2005-2006 ver.1

With my current version, I'm not able to play with navigation whilst driving but can make phone calls and play with audio. After reading various posts, I understand that the new version enables route alteration etc. but disables phone and audio features (when driving)? Is this correct?
Parthiban
That site is actually Lexus, it isn't some dodgy site so you don't need to worry about ordering from them.

As long as you use the part number on your current disc to generate what the new one is you shouldn't have any problems.


You don't lose any functionality with the new disc, the point I think you've read is that the phone functions remain the same, whereas you can input navigation commands while in motion with the new disc.
SourChocolate
[quote name='Parthiban' date='04 August 2010 - 11:03 AM' timestamp='1280916220' post='728466']
That site is actually Lexus, it isn't some dodgy site so you don't need to worry about ordering from them.

As long as you use the part number on your current disc to generate what the new one is you shouldn't have any problems.


You don't lose any functionality with the new disc, the point I think you've read is that the phone functions remain the same, whereas you can input navigation commands while in motion with the new disc.
[/quote]

Hello,

Thank you. I just got my GS300 a few days ago and still trying to familiarize with all the features.

I'm going to order the disks now and see what happens and how it works.

By the way, the website is owned/operated/all signs lead to (delete as appropriate) to http://www.tweddle.com/ based in Belgium which barely shows any connections to Lexus. I do not have too much problem with it as I have read a lot of positive feedback from former customers. Strange though there are not any contact details, company name, errors etc., especially if it's an official website.

S.
Parthiban
That is a fair point actually, there is no actual reference to it being Lexus themselves. However the site "looks" like a Lexus site which although isn't proof itself, wouldn't it breach copyright?

It also has all the Lexus tech docs as well which seems unusual for a third party to offer free of charge - perhaps it is operated by another company but licensed through Toyota/Lexus?


I've just had a thought that the reason for this could be that this isn't a "global" Lexus site, it's only for Europe and set up by Lexus Europe so nothing to do with anyone else.
SourChocolate
[quote name='Parthiban' date='04 August 2010 - 12:14 PM' timestamp='1280920485' post='728484']
That is a fair point actually, there is no actual reference to it being Lexus themselves. However the site "looks" like a Lexus site which although isn't proof itself, wouldn't it breach copyright?

It also has all the Lexus tech docs as well which seems unusual for a third party to offer free of charge - perhaps it is operated by another company but licensed through Toyota/Lexus?


I've just had a thought that the reason for this could be that this isn't a "global" Lexus site, it's only for Europe and set up by Lexus Europe so nothing to do with anyone else.
[/quote]

The technical docs are actually under a different domain. It looks genuine and - again - taking into account it has operated for years and feedback from people - it probably is. If there was no previous feedback I'd stay clear from it since there are tons of sites that "look" genuine if you know what I mean (if not then have a look into the Spam folder).

I have ordered the disks and now awaiting for delivery :)
Parthiban
Yes and no, the physical domain might be different but the same theme - both are www.lexus-*******.eu. And the tech site clearly states that it is Toyota Europe, so I'm sure they are both Toyota sites, but organised by Europe hence the slightly unorthodox web addresses.

Looking into it further, Tweddle are a company specialising in manuals and maintenance documents, and whose clients include several major car manufacturers (of which one is Toyota).

It's definitely an official site, just operated by Tweddle would be my guess :)

Might check this with my dealer when I pop in on Friday, but either way as long as you get your discs it's all good! :winky:


This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.