Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Aftermarket Stereo

Hi all,

OK so I'm new to Lexus and this forum. I have a 2000 IS200 and i want to fit an aftermarket head unit but keep the stock amp and speakers.Is it correct as Halfords claim that the connects2 harness CT20LX02 will do this.

Thank you in advance for any help you guys can give.

Rob.

If you're fitting an aftermarket headunit, it's pointless using the stock amp, as you're new headunit will have an onboard amp, meaning you'll have to use pre-outs to connect to the stock amp. Just get the amp bypass cable, which connects the speaker harnesses to the new headunit's ISO harness, effectively by-passing the stock amp (hence why it's called an amp bypass cable), allowing you to keep the standard speakers.

• Like 1

Hi Matt,

Cheers for the heads up also does this mean with the amp no longer in use the rear speakers need to be changed as they are the 4 and 2 ohms doubles

Rob

• Like 1

Like Nigel just said - using the amp bypass cable retains use of all standard speakers. And yes, it means the stock amp is no longer in use.

• Like 1

• 4 weeks later...