Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Overheating and cut out. Help

Marlee

Hello,

This is my first time at loc. I brought a is200 2000 with 89k millage on Wednesday. On Thursday the car cut out on the motorway(luckily I rolled into a service station) the engine warning and the traction control off lights where on before it cut out. when I pulled up I noticed a small amount of white smoke coming from the engine, upon inspecting the radiator was empty. I topped it up an started the car but it's now misfiring, also found the water was leaking out the radiator.

It's being towed to a local garage today who are doing a pressure test tomorrow.

Just wondering if anyone else has had similar issues or if any mechanics want to guess the extent of the damage. as you can tell I'm anxious I'm going to have a spend a lot of money on a car I just bought.

Thanks

Hi ,sorry you have had such a bad start to Lexus ownership .The IS200 is a very reliable car normally ,and I am not going to guess what your problems may be . All I would ask is did you buy this car from a dealer ?  if so it is his responsibility to sort this for you as the leak must have been evident at the time of sale ;you have had the car for such a short time it is covered by his guarantee as a trader .You must give him the opportunity to rectify the fault . Let us know how you get on .

Dave

Hi Lee and welcome to the LOC, we are a friendly bunch so please dont hold back asking questions big or small should you have any problems with your car. We always welcome ideas on how to overcome problems with our cars but as they are the finest cars in the universe they dont go wrong that often.

I am sorry you are having problems with your Lexus but I am sure the membership will be very helpful.

We always love to see pictures of your cars so don't be shy.

Happy Lexus Motoring.

Mike. Bluesman.

Wow you guys are fast at replying here.