AdBlock Warning

Parts of this website do not function properly with AdBlock enabled on your device. To get the best user experience on our website, please disable Adblock for this website (domain) on your browser.

MurrayN

New to owning a Lexus

Hello,

As the title suggests I'm new to owning a Lexus and almost by default. I've owned SUV's before (Honda) and intended reverting to younger days and a convertible, but once I tested a few, realised that comfort and a loftier driving position were for me! 

I came across a 2005 RX300 ES L, with 48k on the clock and serviced annually. Although the previous owner (2nd from new) had used this as a young children carrier, I saw past the sticky upholstery and badly stained carpets. (It didn't smell too good either) Anyway a smooth test drive and now it's mine for a very reasonable price.

I'm amazed by smoothness and the kit on these, actually more that my previous car, which was a 2013. It'll take some retraining and I suspect some daft questions to you all, before I get to grips with it all.

Just a couple for now. It only came with one key, (their little boy buried one on the beach!) and although working the casing is held together with tape. The dealer wants £150 for a new key and coding it. Any advice? And SatNat - it'll need updating. Anything I should about those on eBay? 

Thanks Murray 

Hello Murray, a big welcome to the club/forum.  Hope you enjoy your new car, I'm sure that you will.

When I change my car I too will be looking for something with a loftier driving position, also easier getting in and out, but that's an age thing for me.

Happy motoring.

• Like 1

For me too! And a driving through France thing too!

With ref to the second key situation see here ( not good news) 

so if you have been quoted £150 from a dealer, as I suspect yours should be dealer only, then 'bargain' ???