Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Meguiars Gold Class Vs Smartwax

Like a few people on here, I have been intrigued by the product 'Smartwax' that I'd never heard of before. I decided to send away for a free sample to see if it was any better than the Meguiars I have been using for a few years. Everyone wants different things out of a product. Because I'm quite particular (the word obsessive has been thrown around previously) of how my car looks, I want the ultimate in performance and will not settle for any less than the best!

Just to clarify, these are my own experiences and I do not work for or represent Meguiars!

I polished the bonnet and roof in Smartwax and the boot lid in Meguiars for a side to side comparison

Out of the box the Smartwax is a clear winner. It's a nice pretty pink colour with a really nice marzipan kind of smell. Compared to the brown slop in a Meguiars bottle, Smartwax has it whipped. Mind you, I'm not so fussy about what it looks or smells like, I would clean the car in algae if it got a nice finish and I'm not really one for bending over and smelling the paintwork so it's not really important.

I applied the Smartwax to the bonnet, roof and mirrors and it goes on well, easy to apply and good coverage. I was impressed with how well and quickly it dried and I could take it off, and was even more impressed with how easily and quickly it comes off leaving little residue. However although Meguiars is more tiresome to apply, it comes off just as well and there are no bits of white residue.