Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Brakes And/or Suspension I Wonder ?

ultimatequinoxe

Went in a semi long run, and started getting problems ( more ! - yep I bought a lemon of the worst example of a lexus going but I am dependant on it with no other options at the moment ).

Braking from speed, seems to pull to the left sort of and feels like its the passenger side ( which feels a little like that front corner is dipping down a bit ) and I'm getting what feels like a warped disc wobbling, but its not been like that before, its come on fairly suddenly. SO having just replaced the track rod ends on the front, and having found it did improve things a bit, I am now leaning towards the idea of upper wishbone ( as in, bushes and ball joint ) as I also hear a deep creaking sometimes at lower speeds on bigger bumps etc.

My rear bushes ( i'm told, but they look ok to me, but I'm no expert ) are shot as well and rear tracking is not possible due to the adjusters being seized etc

If I could pick up a decent LS400 ( or even something else Lexus maybe ) then I could just break this LS400 as the MOT is due the end of the month and I see lots of little annoying problems coming up on it that I can't be bothered with. But I still need a reliable car to get around with, and I can't afford to shell out until I sell my other car and do something with this LS400.

Thanks for any tips or points or idea's. I see wishbones for about £100 a pair that will do the job for the short term at least, so if it is that which is most likely causing the above, then its not so bad I guess. :crybaby:

Thanks for the pointers ! The rear calipers were partially seized so I should think the fronts are not sliding properly. So I had it in mind to get the wheels off on Friday and see whats got play in it bush-wise and try and free up the calipers a bit if needed. But I shall make a point of checking the drop links too, thats just the kind of info I need, thanks a lot !