Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Premier 18" Wheels

Hi,

I'm new to LOC, but have really enjoyed members' helpful and friendly comments on the IS Hybrid.

I test drove the Luxury and was completely blown away by it - made my BMW 1series Sport seem rough, unrefined and very spartan.

I've ordered a Premier for March 1st delivery (can't wait)!! :hocus-pokus:

My concern is the 18" wheels, as the potholes in my area are really bad (Manchester).

Will the larger wheels thud and badly disturb the excellent ride?

Thanks

Hi Kelvin,

Congratulations. In January I'm hoping to order a Premier with the no-cost 17" wheel option because I share your concerns about ride quality. I haven't been able to compare ride quality with different wheel sizes in the new IS but experiments with my 2009 IS showed some, but not a dramatic, difference. Another advantage of the 17" option is the improvement in fuel consumption, according to figures in the brochure. Also I guess the wheels and tyres should be less susceptible to damage from hitting pot holes and presumably the tyres should be cheaper to replace. Finally because the front and rear 17" tyre sizes are the same they could be rotated to balance wear. Sorry I'm beginning to sound like a salesman so maybe I should end with the contrary point that 255 wide, lower profile 18" tyres should improve road holding.

• Like 1

Roger

Thanks for comprehensive answer.

Your point about better road holding is a strong one in favour, as we do not have council winter gritters on our avenue any more, and with the rear wheel drive, I really struggled with the snow and ice in my previous (2nd generation) IS.

Thanks David

I've checked on the net, and some say bigger/wider tyres are better on snow and ice, yet some contradict this.

Does anyone have a definitive answer please??

Thanks David

I've checked on the net, and some say bigger/wider tyres are better on snow and ice, yet some contradict this.