Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Checking Air Suspension On Prospective Purchase Of Ls430

I am going to have a look at a LS430 in Birmingham tomorrow for Phil, The Acre.

I have no knowledge of experience of air suspensions so would appreciate some guidance on how to check the suspension is working properly.

Any help would be much appreciated.

I am making assumptions, which may or may not be correct:

1) there is some button inside the car which adjusts the suspension height setting (if so, where is it, how many height settings are there, and how long does it take for the setting to adjust?)

2) the engine needs to be running when you make an adjustment (does this need to be done when the car is stationary or can it be done on the move?)

Thanks in anticipation of some help.

Colin

to determine a leak you have to make sure the car has been left overnight - if the car has been started or driven before you get there - you may no spot this

you will spot it when you have bought it and parked it overnight

HTH

also wanted to mention there is a facelift model in blue on piston heads for £3995 - the chap sounds genuine and decent by the sound of the ad - that maybe worth a consideration

Hi Mark

Thanks for this.

What will be the symptoms of a leak if the car has been left overnight? How will I check if there is a leak, assuming it has been left overnight (which I suspect will be unlikely)?

A hissing noise (air leaking), fluid underneath somewhere?

Cheers

Colin

if there is a leak the suspension will sag overnight - it will probably rise when the car is started but this sort of problem will only get worst and expensive to fix

so initially check there car is not sitting low especially the back and the ride hide looks the same all around.

i dont think you will hear air hissing but yeah check for fluid leaks

HTH