Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Just Bought An Is-F

Hello all, I've just discovered this forum and I think the car I have bought was owned by a member here.

The car is superb, I love the rarity, the engine note and when the secondary intake opens up it just gets better.

I do have a couple of questions though, sorry I am new to Lexus....

1. The brakes are making an irritating squeal on light/normal application when coming to a stop in traffic. I understand this may indicate that the pads need replacing but I am told it has had new discs and pads fairly recently so my question is do any other owners have this issue and how is it resolved?

2. Is the service plan worth purchasing? The reason I ask is I guess this ties you to a particular dealer and therefore you can't request price matching or negotiate on service costs or can I negotiate on the cost of the service plan? I will definitely stick to Lexus servicing and I have purchased an additional two years warranty with the current offer that is available, so in effect I have a three year warranty.

Thanks in advance - I hope to be a regular here now :)

I will get some photos up when I get a chance to give it a full wash and wax although most of you have one and know exactly what they look like!

Welcome to the forum, They are incredible cars. Quite an active community here given how few there are in the country.

Sounds like you may have dirt between the pads and the discs if they were replaced recently.

No the service plan isn't worth it. I almost got it and am glad I didn't as the dealers all charge different prices and you can haggle them down. People have haggled the 60k service down by 200 quid or so!

Threes is a 2 years for the price of one on warranty though which is worth it as long as you qualify for it.

Stu

Welcome...which ISF was it? We need to see some pictures of your car.