Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Hi all, I am a newbie here and on Friday got myself a late 1997 LS400.

I purchased it knowing it had some faults and am happy and competent to carry out the work myself. The previous owner had disabled controls fitted and to do this the manufacturer of this kit had disconnected all of the steering column adjustment, that's all been stripped apart now and I quickly worked out with my multimeter what they did with the wiring and it's now fully operational :-) so 1st job off the list, aerial mast sourced from eBay and fitted 2nd job done ......... Now to third on the list ....... The common sticking Tachometer fault, mine doesn't move at all even when you "tap" the top of the dash but it comes to life on FULL throttle only. So I have checked all of the guides I can find online about removing the cluster but the bezel in front of the clocks on my car doesn't have the screws going up into the dash at the top? Has anyone got any tips for removing this before I end up potentially destroying this part if I get it wrong.

Hi Ben and welcome to the LS forum . In case you have not already figured out how to remove the cluster ,first you need to get the steering column fully extended and in the lowest position this helps as the cluster is quite a tight fit .Then disconnect the Battery not only to avoid accidental short circuits but also to prevent the dreaded airbag warning permanently lit up .I am not 100% certain this happens on the Mk3 but having had it on my Mk2 and the pain in the rear it causes getting it reset I wouldn't take any chances .