Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Sub Key And Master, Locksmith, Ecu

Hi all

I am looking for a recommendation for a locksmith who has experience of resetting a Lexus ECU to accept new keys. There is discussion of this on US forums, but not much for UK.

Lexus have supplied me with a new master key but can't make it work because I don't have an existing master. Their solution is a new ECU, at considerable expense. Interestingly, the technician who told me this this morning said I wasn't even the first person he had had to give this message this week. They can reprogram more recent cars, but not mine without an existing master. This makes me think other people will have found a way.

here is an example of some US commentary:

I am a locksmith and run into this all the time, never, never go to a dealer for key problems with a Toyota or Lexus, unless you want to pay out the *****.

On the 01-02 Sequoia, the immobilizer system is built into the ECU. Luckily for you they are resetable using a scan tool with the proper software. You should never have to replace the computer on any Toyota/Lexus when you lose keys.

All of them can be reset to accept new keys (most dealers don't know this, so don't ask them). Some can be done with scan tools, some require removal of the ECU or Immobilizer unit and can be reflashed to accept new keys. I do it all the time, I reflash them for my local dealers and auctions, this is a hell of alot cheaper than replacing the ECU at $1100+

Anyone?

Jon

hi jon looks like it has been done here - just a question of spending some time on the internet

http://www.lexusownersclub.co.uk/forum/topic/69277-lost-master-key-ecu-reflash/

Thanks Mark

I have done quite a lot of searching. That member is no longer active and as he said, it took a while to find someone. I am confident there are people out there, just looking for a recomendation

Jon