Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Engine Issues, Revs Fluctuating, Mpg Really Bad

BamBam1

Hi All,

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to cars and I'm wanting to learn a bit more about them.

I have recently bought a 2007 Lexus IS220D with 47k miles. The previous owner (who had it from new) just used it for city driving. Never thought much of it at the time but looking on the forums it looks like this can cause quite a bit of carbon build up, I'm wanting to give cleaning it a go myself as it looks pretty straightforward (on youtube) but want a bit of advice before i do it.

Would it cause any problems if I take out the egr and manually clean that and then use this kit?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00SJ7WBK8/ref=s9_simh_gw_p263_d2_i4?pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=18ZP1JZ3MCMDKEQNSAWE&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=455333147&pf_rd_i=468294

It's the Wynn's 3 pack (EGR Cleaner, DPF Cleaner, and Injector Cleaner), would these cause any problems for the car? Or has anyone come across any better alternatives?

I thought if I manually clean the EGR then use the kit it would come out even cleaner if it's really blocked up.

Sorry if it's a really stupid question, like I said I'm a car noob ;)

Cheers

The kit looks reasonable,the EGR cleaner spray will be the same as carb cleaner so just a solvent to assist the crud build up.

Many members have been using a different type of additive but I cannot remember the exact spec other than it is BG **** .

I guess you've seen the video tutorial on the EGR removal and clean.

It's got to be worth a try for what it costs and then make sure the car gets a good motorway run regularly after that to ensure the DPF gets nice and hot.

Good luck and let us know how you get on.