Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

My boot (trunk) won't open! Help! Lexus GS 300 1997 Auto.

Hi. I am brand new to Lexus ownership, and brand new to this site. I would appreciate a bit of help, please.

I purchased a lovely old Lexus GS 300 Auto (1997) from Auto Trader. It runs beautifully and is a smooth ride. So far, so good!

The only problem is, I can't get the boot (trunk) open, even though the garage from which I bought my Lexus assures me they could!

I had it checked out by my local garage, which I have used for years, and which I trust, and they couldn't get the book to open, try as they might.

My local garage has suggested the absence of a second key might be the problem. Are they right? (I only have one key, for the ignition.)

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated, as this is such a nice car otherwise. 

I am willing to buy another key if necessary, or to pay a reasonable amount for a successful solution.

Many thanks.

What ways have you tried to open it?

Inside where the release lever is, there is a key hole which is also a push button. If that has been pressed in, it disables the boot release lever. Your key should fit it and allow the button to pop back out, the release lever should then work.

Sent from my Iphone using Lexus OC

Many thanks, TigerFish.

I have tried the Release Lever: No joy.

I have tried the button/lock next to the Release Lever: No joy.

I have tried the lock on the boot itself: No joy.

Any further advice would be greatly appreciated.

TigerFish, I have just double checked, following the advice you gave.

The button/lock next to the Release Lever is depressed. I have tried turning the key anti-clockwise, as per the instruction in the manual, to no effect. Nothing happens.

Okay friends - latest update: My local Lexus people (bearing in mind this issue has already beaten my non-Lexus garage) are asking the ridiculous sum of £150 per hour just to look at the problem.