Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Hi all,

I have the VSC check light on.

My is IS220d. I have been driving with this light on for 2 years now. The car did so far 130K on the clock. I have no loss of power whatsoever. I do a trip Swindon-Cambridge twice a week every week. I can easily do 44 MPG at 70+ mph on sixth gear. So Power wise no problem there.

But this light is getting on my nerve now.

I took it to Lexus dealer and they claimed that cat converter has gone and wanted £2500 to fix even though I told them what I said above.

Any ideas how to fix this? or what else can be causing this light to come on?

• 4 weeks later...

Plenty comment on this issue....1) Clean EGR Valve 2) Have Battery disconnected whilst doing it to save time doing it separately.

Sometimes just cleaning EGR valve alone VSC light goes off....sometimes NOT ....BUT disconnecting Battery for 30 mins or so always resolved it for me.

IMPORTANT....when Battery reconnected and light hopefully reset to OFF....I would advise you reset ALL windows starting with the drivers window...let down and bring back up holding the UP position for a few seconds after full closing (you may hear a beep).  Do same with all other doors using their own door switch (don't use front door pairs...go to each switch) You should be OK. If you don't do this with the windows you'll come out someday to find all your windows halfway down and if it has rained quite a mess made.

Plenty of info available on how to clean EGR 30 min job DIY OK...(one awkward bolt below pipe...just loosen do not remove it the pipe will rotate enough)...hope you get sorted.

PS ....BE VERY CAREFUL WITH GASKETS

Hi All.

They said catalytic converter @ £3500. Not a chance. I have been driving it for 2 years now with no less of power, and within 30 miles drive I reach 42 mpg and it passes every MOT.

I will try the EGR method.