Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

LS430 timing belt replacement; Easier than you think

Hi, I'm new here, and as such I am restricted to posting in new members only.  So if a moderator would like to place it appropriately, that would be cool.

I recently decided to tackle my timing belt.  at 185,000mi (1st. one was around 90,000) it was time.  I know there's a lot of leeway regarding miles, but age, usage,  and environmental conditions can age rubber products differently, so I didn't want to push it, or i'd be pushing it, literally.

I'm no mechanic.  But I have a few tools, and I regularly study at the university of YouTube. 

Basically it was quite easy (and bear in mind, when I first watched others do it on YouTube, I said "no way am I up to that ".  Well it turns out I was.  You may be too.

Here's the stuff that caused me trouble, that isn't mentioned by others: 

1. Try and do it all on the same day, which means, have ALL your new parts there already.  That way it will be fresh in your mind.  Don't let a few days elapse between disassembly and assembly, like I did.

2.MAKE METICULOUS NOTES ABOUT WHICH BOLTS/STUDS GO WHERE AND WHAT THEY DO.

3. Take lots of pictures, and make sure they are clear detailed pictures.

4. Work with a lot of light, its quite dingy down there in a november garage.

5. Dress warmly (if appropriate)  cold will make you take shortcuts.