Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

ISF intakes, what are you using?

So, two weeks in to ISF ownership, as some of you may have seen I am already looking into new exhaust manifolds, however as an engineer I am inspired to look deeper.

There seems to be many claims from over the pond that changing the intake pipe from the air filter to throttle body give a few HP benefit, I work in induction and fuelling for a UK car brand, so would be inclined to agree that by removing  the resonator and convoluted sections this would be of benefit on such a large capacity engine, but these will be negligible, I'm bothered about the sound!

I do however need to question some of the claims from over the pond, as many of these claims seem to be based on apparent back to back dyne runs, but with little to no control between runs. 

I therefore am disregarding the views of our American friends (which is great as my girlfriend finds it so insulting) and so will do my own thing.

Pre-divorce I spent a **** loads of money making a Ford Sierra go very fast, working with my tuner we tried numerous options of airbox  configurations, however it was very evident early on that dyno figures were very different to real word figures and therefore open cone filters gave huge benefits in real world driving, with the exception of sitting in traffic, but my view is who needs for than 400hp to sit in traffic?

So the plan, come up with a  open cone air filter set up, that sounds awesome and deliver comparable performance, but sound better!!

Will be updating when the GF';s parents deliver the bits!!

• Like 2

Hi Rich,