Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

What could possibly go wrong?

OldStoat

Hi, I'm new to Lexus and, as someone else has written here, am thinking of buying my last car.

Various circumstances {including Scottish antecedents, and serious illness}  mean that I really don't want to pay more than 4k for a car - but I kind of hanker after an RX400h.

An optimist at heart I think that the engineering of Lexus may well provide for reliable service for 20 years and 200k miles - even the hybrid system which is warranted for 15 years given proper attention - wow!. 

So my question is what big bills might I expect from a 125000 mile old car with a full service history, and what are service costs likely to be given 10k annual mileage?

Hope someone has the time to respond - and that this is an appropriate sort of topic for here.

Hello Chris and welcome to the LOC.

With a full service history and hybrid health checks these cars just keep on going, I think once again Lexus top the reliability leagues.

In the USA there is a Lexus LS400 which has covered over 1,000,000 miles, yes 1 million and still going so at 125,000 miles the one you are considering isn’t even “run in” yet.

Have you done an MOT history check? Simply put in the registration number and it will show you all the past MOT details including advisories.

If you wish you can even post a link if available of the car you are considering ( I’ve never known another LOC member jump in and buy it). We can then give opinions good or bad.

Obviously these are a big heavy car so apart from wear and tear items like brake pads the suspension can wear but generally rubber bushes but this is common on all cars particularly with UK potholed roads. Check that the cam belt has been replaced at the correct time and haggle the price if a replacement is due.

Regarding servicing if you are sticking to Lexus they have a discounted fixed price system for older models which is quite reasonable.