Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Rx400h intermittent flat battery

Hi I'm very new to this but reaching out to you because I am loathed to take to my main dealer!

Out 400h has been faultless for 8 years apart from the normal wear and tear but since lockdown I have had problems with the aux Battery! Now it's well documented that there's a problem with these and was just about to replace when it didn't start again. I took the other car for that journey but and when I came back the Lexus started just fine so it is totally intermittent? I have cleaned up the earth strap but that has made no difference?

Any ideas would be great. It may well be a faulty aux Battery but it seems strange to be flat one minute then charged 10 minutes later?

4 hours ago, Lebouef said:

Thanks guys will see if I can get hold of a voltmeter and take a look. 

How can a battery be what seems flat one minute and then charged the next though? Surely a battery is either charged or not?

All batteries recover a little of there charge when used discharged. When you first go to get in your car as you approach the brake booster pump comes on to bring up the brake pressure. you then open the door the locks opening, and then put you foot on the brake bringing on the brake lights, and press the start button to boot the computers. All this uses the Battery. If the voltage is to low the car refuses to go to ready mode.
Leaving the car the Battery recovers a little, and returning a short while later the brakes are already pressurised, and the Battery has enough voltage to get to ready mode.

John.