Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Catalytic converters

JPG

Hi

had my f-sport for a few weeks now and love it.

As I’m new to Lexus cars and hybrids I didn’t have a clue about the catalytic converters being stolen and only just found out this.

is there anything i can do to prevent this and is my car at risk?

If you do a search in the forums you should find some answers. The short version is you can get a cat lock which is basically an extra layer of metal covering the area to make it more difficult but not impossible to cut through. The SUVs are at greater risk and they can be done without jacking the car up but their has unfortunately been a case of it being stolen from a CT on here that was in a shopping car park. 

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, JPG said:

Gone for it and had a catloc fitted at Lincoln Lexus,all done in under a hour 👍

Have you noticed any difference in regard to noise and/or vibration since it was fitted?

It may depend on model of car but one member on here said that it became so noisy that he's had the catloc taken off again!

Not as yet no,but I’ll keep an ear out.took it for a good spin straight after and didn’t notice any noise.

the one I’ve had is a plate and the fitter did mention the others that use a chain or cables to secure them being not very good.

• Like 2

• 3 weeks later...

Someone stolen my car catalytic converters damaged the grill from the front and disconnected alarm not just that also stolen sensor and damaged the Air condition compressor from the corner of main Thornbury Road and Side road Church Road So much so the converter was locked .Police said it’s a very common crime and insurance had the same explanation. The insurance Agents have a back log and it Can take 6 months to replace after paying them the access amount of £450 potentially my insurance premium would go high as well .I would held Lexus responsible Why don't manufacturers fit cat locks themselves?