Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

My new (used!) GS450h - a few questions

Hi All,

Finally did it! - I’ve now got a 2012 GS450h! -Really is a stunning car!

I have a few questions and these are likely to be really basic for everyone here -I’m completely new to Lexus and hybrid cars. I’d appreciate your thoughts.

1. Whenever I start the car, it sounds quite noisy and loud -it may just be my expectation but I thought it would be a little quieter. It may be that when I start off in electric and then the engine comes on I don’t notice it as much. Not something that stood out so much when I test drove it.(its just had its 90k service by a lexus dealership -where I purchased the car)
  2. While ticking over, just popped the bonnet to have a look around etc, and its sounded again quite tappety -is that normal for this engine? I noticed the oil was on the lower third of the dipstick marks but the engine was running at the time so will check again once the car has been at rest for a short while. Is the noise oil related? Or normal for this sort of engine?
  3. Fuel - I’ve had Japanese imports for many years now and have always run them on super unleaded. I know that I don’t need to run the GS450h on super but does anyone on the forum do that? Worth it? Beneficial to the engine etc?
  4. Two tyres were changed by the Lexus dealership before delivery...... they’ve been changed to Fullrun Fruntwo! Not a decent tyre from what I’ve read and surprised me that the dealership would put on such budget tyres. Heard some horror stories......worth changing? I’ve never cut corners on brakes and tyres for obvious reasons.

Thanks,

R

• Like 1