Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Newbie Questions - RX300

Hello All, 

Im a newbie and looking to buy a RX300. I have seen a 2005 SE-L model local to me, but it has an issue in which the Nav system has stopped working. Apparently the system stopped suddenly, and now it has no Nav, or Heating Controls. 

Could this be an easy fix with a replacement unit, or does it need to be coded to the car? 

Thanks

Chris 

No NAV could be the DVD system in the boot... or...?

Heater controls - could be anything?

The SE-L will have air suspension. Great if it works but £££ to fix.

Unless it's for minimum £ i'd walk away - what else might be wrong, yet to be discovered?

Any link for the car?

• Like 1

Yep, I agree with Piers.

There will be better ones out there. Air suspension is around the £600 per corner mark if any air strut goes faulty and heater controls could be anything from a faulty switch or loose connection upwards.

• Like 2

I'd second walking away from an SE-L with air shocks. Find an SE-Nav instead. Springs in the suspension and Nav with reversing camera. 

The SE-L was okay when it was new and under warranty, but an older car outside of warranty is a liability. £600 per corner when the shocks rust through. And they will.

Just bear in mind the Nav on a 2005 car will be pretty clunky and the last upgrade didn't improve it much. I just use it for preset destinations to hear the posh lady's voice. Day-to-Day I use Waze for navigation on my phone, it's easier to use being totally hands-free.

• Like 2

Thanks for the comments. 

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Lexus-rx300/333831787778

This is the add for the car, looks pretty clean otherwise but I have read about the air suspension being an issue. I was wondering if the Nav unit could just be swopped with a secondhand one? 

Owner seems upfront with the issue, but due to work havent been able to take a look. History with lexus sounds promising?