Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Dash cameras

4 hours ago, Richard1200 said:

Anybody have any comments on the Nextbase system that Lexus dealers are promoting

They're good but extremely expensive.

A good system off amazon shouldn't cost more than £140. Viofo for one

4 hours ago, Richard1200 said:

Anybody have any comments on the Nextbase system that Lexus dealers are promoting

Very overpriced, as are their fitting charges.

A single front-facing camera is a very easy DIY job taking no more than half an hour, if that. If you don't want to DIY then any auto electrician will fit it for between about £30-£50.

Viofo or Aukey cameras are very good, reasonably priced and work well, as well as being very small and discreet.

I have had BLACKVUE for many years and swopped them between several of my Lexus cars but I managed to get a new front and rear Nextbase pair in the deal this week with my new new Takumi.

I've been using a unbranded one for about 5 years now across 3 cars all good, I think Techmoan on YT reviewed it back when he was just a small channel but I can't remember the what it was called it's meant to be hidden by looking similar to the wing mirror part.

I was in a recent incident & it provided good footage for all involved, H264 is the recoding codec.

I used to power it from the cig lighter socket but its awkward on the GS4 so this time I went with a OBD2 port lead & the radio still works ok no interference.

2021-06-25 18.31.36.jpg

I have the Front facing only Nextbase cam, installed by Lexus. Neatly integrated and works very well with excellent quality recordings. However, this is my first dashcam, so cannot compare.