Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

RC F rear axle/diff noise

Hi all, newbie here so be kind!

Had my 2018 RC F delivered this week and I have to say after initial indifference, I have grown to like it…..in fact I really like it!

Drove it on a 400 mile trip in mixed conditions and it was surprisingly economical, reasonably comfortable and went well when needed. I found the steering a little light, but have got used to it don’t really notice it now. Subsequently drove it on lots of local runs as well.

However, I noticed that when pulling off - especially when the car is turning - there is an initial feeling of drag and slight noise up to about 20mph. Doesn’t matter what driving mode it is in but does seem to be less noticeable if you are rolling…for instance at a roundabout. The best way I can describe it is similar to when you have brand new tyres on they give that hard slip/grip feel for the first few miles. Driven lots of rear wheel drive cars and never experienced this…just stepped out of  BMW 640D M Sport with 20s on.

Is this a characteristic of the car, or a diff setting etc? The car has 18k FLSH and was serviced less than 1500 miles ago.

8 hours ago, Smithers said:

Hi all, newbie here so be kind!

Had my 2018 RC F delivered this week and I have to say after initial indifference, I have grown to like it…..in fact I really like it!

Drove it on a 400 mile trip in mixed conditions and it was surprisingly economical, reasonably comfortable and went well when needed. I found the steering a little light, but have got used to it don’t really notice it now. Subsequently drove it on lots of local runs as well.