Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Thinking About A Supercharger

Hi, you will have to excuse me, i am a total novice when it comes to car engines, what i know about them could be written on the back of half a stamp.

i do however like my cars to be powerful. i had never even heard of a supercharger before joining this site, and i like the sound of it.

do you need any technical knowledge to fit one, does it have to be done by a proffessional, and how much do they cost. just done a google search and came up with supercharger kits ranging from £50 to £2500, so there must be a big difference in quality and types.

i am not wealthy so i can't afford a turbo.

saw an add on a link from this site for a TURBONATOR, some kind of steel pipe that creates a vortex in the air intake. anyone tried one of these, do they work? does the claim of increased mpg hold water?

also, with a supercharger, does the mpg suffer a lot or is it only slight, or does that depend on how you drive it after its installed.

thanks for putting up with the questions, please feel free to go into detail, but please don't confuse me with science and engine talk, i know nothing. treat me like a child learning to read. i know how to check the oil, but changing a spark plug would at this moment be totally beyond me.

Superchargers are about £2500 - £3000 new. They can be fitted in about 8 hours. Better to get somebody who knows what they are doing to fit it though. Cost of fitting ranges from £400 ish upwards depending where and who fits it.

MPG is actually slightly better if you drive the car normally. But you wont, so its a bit lower than standard. You'll probably develop a heavy right foot :P

The superchargers are lots of fun and make the IS the car it should've been. The increase in bhp is around +50bhp. You will be better off fitting an aftermarket cat back exhaust too, to benefit even more. But its not necessary.