Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Clay Bars

Hi, I'm new to LOC but have had my LS400 (Black) for 20 months. I usually clean it with car wax and polish it Turtle Wax and thought it looked pretty good as a result.I've been looking at the pics of other members cars and realise that my car looks shabby compared to them so, I've been reading a bit about clay bars but don't know how to use the stuff or wether it would worth doing it on my car. My bonnet has swirls and scratches on it, would clay make any difference? A tutorial from one of you experts would be really appreciated. Paul

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Have a look at the guides in cleanyourcar.co.uk a great site with a good forum plus lots of info from very experienced people. Be warned the array of products available will blow your mind but basically for a car with paint work in good condition it is :-

Wash & Rinse

clay

Wash & Rinse

Seal

Wax

Then admire the many hours work you have spent making your car look ace.

Merv

clay bar remove all bonded particles that feel rough on your paintwork.for the swirl marks you need polish and a dual action polisher,visit autopia web site in the know how section,there you will find more information than you can wave a stick at.

clay makes a huge difference and makes the paint feel very sooth - it will not remove swirls etc.

i prefer the poorboys clay as its easier to use than the megs clay and is less work as the poorboys is bit move aggressive - it doesnt damage the paint/clearcoat in any way.

clay kits

no clay kits listed though....unless i'm being blind

lots of clay kits at link attached. I have dealt with these people and received a very good service.

Lhttp://www.polishedbliss.co.uk/acatalog/car-care-products-protect.htm

quick question guys: