Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Tappet Type Noise Any Ideas?

sambo86

was wondering if this is normal got a 99 model with 110 on clock going to change oil soon just got work and family commitments at mo just getting at tappet noise like on ford fiestas was wodering if the lex had tappets and if they can be repalaced im no mechanic but im tryin lol any help would be much appriciated :tomato:

• 4 weeks later...

you cant adjust them mate they are oil controled.....but check the injectors as they can get noisey at a higher mileage

You should only get a tappety noise for a couple of seconds when you first start the car...should be smooth and quiet from then on. ..Check your oil level...and also what ormi said about checking its not the injectors getting noisy

I have always found the "tappets" to be a little noisey on the IS. Not quite smoothy silk, but not excessively noisey like an old car either.

If you have a look under lifters here -> http://www.toyodiy.c...EFVKQ_1302.html you'll see they list options for different heights to compensate for wear. On the 3SGE they have different thickness shims which makes more sense. So if yours are getting noisy the only real way to fix it is to have them replaced :( Not a cheap fix I would imagine.

You could try an oil additive like Lucus oil stabiliser in the mean time.

I done an engine flus and oil change the other day, used 5w30 synthetic but it didn't fix the problem, might try 10w40 next see if that helps. The car only has 26k miles but has been sitting in a dealers four court for about a year.

The oil filters a real bitch to get to, had to abandon the job on Friday night, bought this, did the trick.

Yeah mines all tappety as well, got plenty of oil which is pretty clean. Done nearly 6k on it and will change it when i get back from holiday.