Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Regenerative Braking Issue

Hi all,

I'd really like some views on how my RX400h is behaving, if possible. I've been driving it for about 9 months now, so have tuned in to the way the hybrid drive works, and what it is supposed to do when. However, I think there is an issue with the regenerative braking. To me, it seems that normal behaviour is that when performing ordinary braking manoeuvres, the electric motors are engaged in "generator mode" to help slow the car down and harvest the kinetic energy - the power meter dips into the blue section to show that this is happening. On my car, this mostly works, but also frequently seems to "drop out" during a braking manoeuvre - especially then travelling down hill. I can feel the braking effectiveness suddenly reduce (it feels almost like the car has hit a patch of black ice), and the power meter rises back up to the zero position.

I mentioned this to my dealer when the car was serviced a couple of weeks ago, and they checked for fault codes (none), and "reset the hybrid drive", whatever that might mean. It did seem to resolve the problem for about a week, but now it is back to its old ways. As an illustration, we took the car to the Alps a couple of months back, and on a daily basis we drove down hill at the end of the day back to our apartment - hundreds of metres of descent probably taking 10 mins. There seemed to be little regenerative braking after an initial period, and we never got the energy bars all lit up, all week.

Has anyone experienced anything similar? Any advice? The car is still in warranty for about 3 months, so I'd really like to get it sorted if there is a problem to be resolved. Any advice on what to say to the dealer?

Thanks in advance ... Nick.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...

it's very difficult to get the bars fully to the top. I achieved it in winter mainly because the temp was so low the engine seems to be on all the time.