Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Yes Another Overheating

90 ls400 it belongs to my niece. yes i have read the other post but did not help much. The car is over heating after about 15 min. I have been working on my own cars for about 30 yrs. so I know a bit about cars. I repalaced the water pump about 4 months ago, it was bad (leaking). It just started over heating. I took out the thermastat and boilied it on the stove, it opened. i left it out and put the housing back on it still overheated. took both hoses off and ran water through to see if there might be a block but the water flowed freely, so no blockage. I then turn the engine on to see if the pump would push the water out ad it did not. if I fed the water while the engine was runing it flow through. Which normally I would say the pump is bad, it is possible but being only 4 months old unlikely but possible. not having worked on lexus' I do not know if there is some thing that i do not know. she has been without a car for a couple of weeks. thank you for your help

i believe the cap is good when hot it goes out the overflow hose not the cap. No collapsed hoses I was hopoong the pump is not bad it is only a few months old. I really was not looking to replacing it again. It takes a few hours to do that, but that seems like thatis all it can be.

is the timing belt tension ok?. I'd have thought if the pump was seized it would make smoke (or a lot of noise at least) as the belt ran over it?.

too loose and maybe slipping over it.

might you not just try without a thermostat?

would be a lot easier to diagnose without a thermostat too as no water round the pump area (when it gets hot) would indicade a gasket/barrel/cylinder leakage.