Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Car Starts Fine, Idles Fine The Cuts Out

Hi,

I have recently purchased a IS220d on a 57 plate, the last three mornings I have started the car it starts first time perfectly then idles fine for approx 30 secs then dies. If I try and start the car again I can hear it trying to start and it wont start untill I roll down the hill outside my house.

Once it starts the second time its fine and I have no problems. After this its ok for the rest of the day if its left a few hours it starts and doesnt cut out, it just seems to be the first morning start.

I have only had the car 6 weeks with no problsm and this has happened only the last 3 mornings. I am not very good with cars but I am guessing its a problem with the Battery maybe?

On a side note will pushing the start button and rolling down a hill to get it started do any damage? I have never "jumped" a car that doesnt have a key?

I have tried turning everything off such as lights, car stereo and heater before I start and it still cut out after 30 seconds and seemed to be the same when everything was on.

Hello and welcome to the LOC.

If it is starting initially and running for 30 seconds I doubt it is anything to do with the Battery as if this was faulty it wouldn't even start.

There have been some crazy incidences with interference making immobilisers do weird things so it may be worth parking your car in a different position for a night just to make sure, a long shot I know.

It could also be an air leak in the diesel injection system possibly around the filter area so during the night air is drawn into the fuel and as soon as it gets to the pump and injectors the engine will stop so check all connections for tightness along the pipework.

Do you have any warranty with the car?

Hello and welcome to the LOC.

If it is starting initially and running for 30 seconds I doubt it is anything to do with the battery as if this was faulty it wouldn't even start.