Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Parking Sensors On 09 Rx 400H Executive Limited Edition

Hi all,

Newbie here. Got my GS300 a short while ago, but just decided to trade up to a 09 reg RX400h Executive Limited Edition today, mainly wanted to move into the hybrid category, plus I always wanted an SUV.

I am really excited about the car and everything about it except for a couple of things that really baffle me. please could anyone help?

1. This car comes with rear parking camera, same as my GS300 so I just presumed that the front and rear parking sensors come as standard too. However, I just realised that RX400h doesn't come with parking sensors by default! Is this true? With the rear camera, does it not mean a rear sensors would definitely be part of it?

2. If the above is true, how much am I looking at to have the sensors fixed by the main dealer? I have grown very much used to the sensors having driven my GS300, and RX is a big car, I'd really like to have them to be honest.

3. Presume that I can have the dealer to fix the sensors for me, how robust or reliable are they (If I get the 800 series as recommended by some). Do they work quite awkwardly as not very much integrated with the existing dash control etc.?

4. I have read some articles from some drivers reporting the car rolls on a hill start. Is that an universal problem with RX400h, is that true?

5. Lastly, I also just realised that the SmartAccess doesn't apply to this model either! How silly, my 05 GS300 has all of the above as standard. It's a real shame cos I hate the look of the old fashioned key and hate having to turn it to switch the car on the old fashion way. :( I guess there's no way around this?

Many many many many many thanks for your help in advance!

Jake

Welcome Jake

1 - I believe parking sensors are a dealer fit option. Certainly not standard and I didn't think they were fully integrated as with the RX450h into the display