Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Check Vsc Warning On Is220D

Spybey

Thanks Steve, I'll try and get it some where tomorrow. Won't be easy as it will only do 30 mph and I don't live near a garage.

Some people say it will be the egr valve and just to clean it out? But I'm no mechanic far from it lol.

Ah ok. For me then I I would take off the egr and clean it as it's only a 45minute job start to finish. Then delete the code using the code reader and see if it comes back on. Also you could try some dpf cleaner, I've never used this but for £10 it's worth a try, I've heard the Wynns DPF cleanner is very good and available from Halfords, but there is a chance your dpf could be too far gone but worth a try!

Excellent! No problem. How badly was it coked up? It's worth doing regularly, it should improve your mpg. The DPF cleanner might also be with doing as a preventative measure

The valve it self wasn't to bad. But where it mounts to was pretty bad. I hadn't noticed a problem with my mpg. I don't travel far in it each day and I get about 33 mpg. On a good run 47 mpg, I know there not to efficient. What does yours average?

That's pretty good then, mine isn't too bad either. I do short journeys and get around 35mpg on average. My valve was replaced in July before I bought the car but I took a look at it last month and it was covered, I'm going to clean it every 3 months as a new one is around 300euros. I use a fuel additive now too as I'm worried about the coke build up and also the dpf. A petrol engined car would suit me more but petrol is a lot more expensive than diesel out here

• Like 1

Scrap that, took the car out this morning and after 5 miles the same error returned and went back into limp mode. So looks like it maybe be the dpf. Is there anything else it could be?

Could the valve be faulty, is there any way of testing it?