Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Need Help - 98 Ls 400 Parts

Hi all,

I am a total newbie and hope that you all can help me out.

I recently got a 98 LS400 and love it alot however I am now having worries on how long the car can last. The car that has been maintained poorly and defintely require replacing quite a number of stuff( the last time the timing belt was change was on 2005! that is almost 9 years AGO!! Crazy! It is a ticking time bomb waiting to explode!)

Is there any other way to get OEM Lexus LS400 parts besides going to the dealership? Do I have to use OEM parts? I want to use OEM parts as I read that it is more reliable. Where can I find parts for my Lexus? I really need some help here. What are the things that can be obtained from the US version of the LS400(interchangeable) like engine stuff and what are not? I think that engine items are all virtually interchangeable with the US model but I am not sure what parts are and what are not. And if there are essential parts that are not replaceble, what am I to do?

How do I get my independent mechanic to be able to do repairs and maintenance? Is there a servicing manual that can be bought? Is there a UK version manual for the 98 LS400?

I have been searching through the entire forum for answers. Appreciate the kind help of such a supportive community.

Thanks so much!

Welcome John, good to see a new member.

The cambelt change is about every ten years and 100k miles................. so you might not need to fret too much over that one ! the cambelts rarely snap even way over this.

At about the second cambelt change you might want to think about replacing the waterpump ( or sooner if it's losing water ) ...... it's a bugger to do separately.

The starter motor when it's on its way out gives you some notice usually and a simple repair kit is available for @£13 ......... you don't have to buy a recon or new unit.

Plugs are 60k miles ............ HT leads probably 180k miles or so.