Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Mixed Martial Arts (mma)

Pip

I was wondering if there are any practicing MMA trainees on here?

Having a background in Boxing, Shotoken (2yrs) and currently Bujiken JAG Ninjitsu (3yrs) which i find lethal with pressure point striking and adaptiveness to survival.

I have very little experience with ground work/fighting. Having never been to the ground myself, I was wondering if anyone on here has a little knowledge on the ground arts ie. Brazilian Jujitsu BJJ and Greco Roman wrestling?

I figured that it is best to be covered in all areas to make a better fighter and you never know. Just wanted a few opinions on which route to go? :winky:

Those not in the know just watch UFC, K1 and the likes and you will see majority of fights ending up on the floor for some part.

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Too linear in movement and too set based. Good striking strength can be built up from it. You are right if thats what you are into ie. the art and spiritual side which any good martial art will have. Shotoken doesnt have much in application for proper fighting, kumite is competition not REAL fighting. Thats why i stopped practicing. Thanks for your input.

1st Kyu Shotokan (about 10 years ago though)

Broke my wedding ring finger two weeks before 1st dan grading, and can not make a fist now as it does not bend at the end joint.

Really enjoyed it - very frustrating when I stopped.

Still train a bit - but only at home.

Shotoken doesnt have much in application for proper fighting

Well.. it does to a certain extent, but it's limited in scope, not taught to everyone, and it's more extrapolated from the "traditional" techniques with adaptations. Nevertheless, it's certainly not kick-boxing or pub brawl material and doesn't help with those, that's for sure :)

Cheers,

L.

Mr Morse keep your perversions to yourself lol! ;)