Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 10/23/2015 in all areas

  1. 14 points
    Happy Christmas to one and all. And to a great forum also. Piers.
  2. 14 points
    Four months into GS F ownership I finally got around to taking some pictures. So here it is, early car with fixed dampers, sonic titanium with red leather, Mark Levinson but no sunroof -perfect spec for me. The plate doesn't really suit but came off my V10 Phaeton which the F replaced. Plan is to keep it forever -one of the reasons I chose it over an M5 or AMG. I love the sense of occasion you get when driving, and the Jekyll and Hyde character. And, of course, the noise! I feel very fortunate to own three of the best sounding cars ever -the GS F, an S54 BMW Z3 M Coupe and a Gordon-Keeble. Hi to everyone on the forum! Mike
  3. 13 points
    This has been a little while coming, so please bear with me. I'm a bit of a perfectionist (it's a curse) and never more so than with my cars. I have a bit of a history with 'refreshing' cars. This usually involves returning cars to a better than pristine state and then (lots of money later), getting bored, selling and starting again. Thus it's hard for me really appreciate my cars and to keep them for any long duration. Like I said, a curse. Anyway I'm hoping to change my ways with my move to Lexus. It just ticks so many boxes for me right now. The base car was a really good place to start: low mileage and a full service history from the original dealer. The car had been well looked after; the paint work original, in good nick and the mechanicals sound. However, as with everything that gets used, it picks up some perfections along the way. The first thing I wanted to do was sort the paint. The car had picked up some front end blemishes/marks and the odd chip. To do this properly required a complete front end refresh. The next issue is that nothing lets a fresh paint job down more than putting tatty trim back on. So new headlights, grills, and a plate mount later and we were looking good. I love the original look of the ISF, so while salivating over an amazing set of forged Vossen alloys, I chose to refurb the oem 10 spokes for now. I didnt want the car sitting on axel stands for a week, so i opted for getting another set. After sourcing a great set from a very helpful member on here, we got these refurbished and sent up to me. The wheels came with new Bridgestones, however I'd already bought some PS4Ss which had been in the garage, getting in the way of the Mrs. I really rate these, having used PSSs for years. New wheel centers finish these off well. Turns out the old ones were actually in very good condition anyway. The ISF's interior is in really good condition, if a little dark. Theres nothing i hate more than saggy seats with crumpled bolsters. It was also a nice surprise considering how badly my previous new Audi seats wore over 2 years of light use. I toyed with the idea of a quilted cream retrim, having seen how good the colour looks combined with an USB car. I'm going to sit (haha) on this for a bit as it strays from original and I'm not sure how well it resists dirt (i have a little one on the way). Ive settled for now with a new set of Lexus mats, Lexus boot liner and some replacement plastic trims (replaced some scuffed boot trays and sill trims). Finally, to tie everything in, the car came back today after several days away with a really nice man called Clark. His reputation preceeds him and im never dissapointed with his work. He treated the ISF to a paint correction, detail and a protective quartz coating on the body, trim and wheels. Next plans... well I'm currently trying to source a Jap s/s & titanium exhaust to help the v8 sound a bit meaner. Then I'll see how I feel about the Vossens and the retrim again. Big thanks again to Mr Rat and Sam at Lexus Cheltenham for helping me out big-time with the wheels. Top blokes. Right, ive prattled on enough, see what you think:
  4. 12 points
    Well eventually I'm an ISF owner and I'm sooooo pleased with it. Collected today from a member here so thanks David @Dave400SE for the opportunity. Great to meet you. I gather its belonged to at least 1 other member too so perhaps I'm just the current custodian of this fine machine. I took the long way home through the Peak District and haven't stopped grinning yet. I didn't stop to take any new photo's either, Doh, but here's a couple of Davids. Its in great condition but I cant resist spending a few ££ to make it the best it can be. Thanks to all you guys on here from which I have leaned so much on my search to find the right one. Love it. Love it. Love it.......or is it "her" ?
  5. 11 points
    Long post...please bear with me: I think that people may be missing the real points here and there seems to be too much splitting of hairs on top trumps and technicalities that really don't figure at all in the marketing side. Lexus doesn't make marketing decisions based on straw poles about what people say that they might or might not want. They make marketing decisions much like any equivalent car manufacturer, based on sales figures particularly those from the largest markets. They do not care, or even think about how this might affect those "loyal" lexus customers who (like me) mourn the passing of possibly their best all round saloon, the GS. Whatever opinions are bandied about on personal preference, the fact remains, sales figures to one side, that the 3.0 V6 and the 3.5V6 were amongst the most reliable petrol engines on the planet by all measured assessments over the years and that they offered the best compromise of economy to performance. Whether we need a 3.5 V6 is irrelevant otherwise we'd all be conned into buying the absolutely godawful plethora of turbo/supercharged 1.5 litre direct injection disposable monstrosities. Before anyone gets hurt by that remark, it's incontrovertible that issues such as petrol dilution of oil sumps from direct injection cold running (cold start) foibles, equals more frequent oil changes and less engine protection, and that's before we even get to a puny little 1.2 or 1.5 motor, lugging about 1 to 1.5 tonnes, stressed to the nines to achieve over 200BHP and high torque figures. All the evidence from Honda and Ford shows beyond all reasonable doubt that these engines are problematic, short lived (by comparison with non-direct injection normally aspirated larger engines) and as such the carbon footprint over time is only likely to be higher. You can argue either way and try to justify your points but for some of us, we don't care if technology provides an alternative. The simple fact is that many of us don't care for those alternatives, in terms of pride of ownership, of likely longevity (most of these cars are frequently sold as disposable assets with shorter lifespans likely which helps boost car manufacturers towards their future model sales) or of the driving experience. And please, if anyone is tempted to respond by "telling" me what I would or wouldn't like or should like...don't go there! Some of the remarks (no names but we know who I refer to) on this thread have been downright arrogant, uncalled for, rude and aggressive. Some folk need to grasp the fact that we are all entitled to our opinions so to call people "stupid" is bang out of order on what is usually a more gentlemanly and better mannered forum. Might I humbly suggest that we try, at least, to keep it that way? There's a hell of a lot positive about the normally aspirated straight 6 or Vee 6. It's inherently smoother, better balanced, and in anything over 2.5 litre upwards, produces ample torque and power whilst remaining under-stressed, by and large bombproof reliability wise, simpler, and over time, likely to have far better longevity and durability. Some of us want a 3 litre or 3.5 because we prefer a lazier larger, less stressed engine that makes adequate power. This isn't about 0-60 top trumps (I couldn't care less what a 1.5 turbo 4 pot does the 0-60 in...really, it's an irrelevance) because any modern 3 litre normally aspirated car will have more than enough shove for safe overtaking and relaxed long legged motorway cruising, or for lugging loads up steep hills. Personally, I wished that I had kept my GS300. It was far and away the best car (and one of the better driving experiences) I ever owned, and I have owned fast German saloons and estates. What this whole thread boils down to is that Lexus are discontinuing (in the UK at least where sales figures of around 350 cars per year make no sense to them) possibly the best all rounder that they've ever made. Whether it is the "best" is irrelevant to them or to us, as sales figures are what it's all about. The GS was never picked up in anywhere like the same numbers of the target audience....executive company car fleets, because 1) it was sold at too high a cost compared with the economies of scale of BMW/Audi/Mercedes to compete and because 2) it appealed only to those buying (rather than leasing or as a company vehicle) to the over 40's due to initial purchase price and insurance. Take those main contributing factors to low sales away and compare the car like for like and it many ways it betters the competition, in reliability, comfort, finish and refinement. Performance figure comparisons belong on paper. The driving experience is what it's all about and sadly, part of that was lost when the switch to hybrids came along due to the weight penalty it brought with it and most certainly to the switch to fwd. Lexus do a good job (except I'd argue with the CT which is has imho appalling ride quality) and have made cars like the GS and even the RX hide their mass well. People in the market for the GS I don't think will want the LS. It's that much larger and costlier to buy and run, new or used, plus costs more to insure, and in the case of the hybrid, has a pathetic boot size for such a large car. The irony of all of this is that the best selling Lexus in the UK also remains the worst Lexus in the UK (the CT) which is beaten in just about every area except internal finish by its competitors and especially on ride comfort, which goes to prove that none of these decisions are made on what a great car the GS was. It was, and remains a great car. So where does that leave the customers who hanker after a 3.5 V6? Well, Lexus are mistaken if they think for a second that people are likely to stick with them and accept a 300h or the underpowered and rather rough running lump that the 250 is. I wouldn't. Those customers will be lost to Lexus but that doesn't really matter to them because they only amounted to 350-odd annually anyway compared with 21,000 for the RX, or even more with the CT. Hard facts, because running a successful business is about profit and reinvestment. Are electric-only cars really viable presently? No. You might like them an want to argue the opposite, but once you look into what viability entails, none of the arguments I've so far heard bear up to close scrutiny. Not if you do loads of miles and not based on purchase costs and most definitely NOT on carbon footprint. You have to look at the efficiency of getting electric from burning gas (where a majority of our electricity generation still comes from) in terms of the generation process, the distribution (and distribution losses) and charging losses (battery efficiency) and motive efficiency (motors and transmission). Petrol likely still remains more efficient and we will not have national capacity for a switch to electric any time soon, by all official estimates, not for well over a decade or two. So should you feel bad about running a 3 litre V6 until such time as things change? No, of course not. From every aspect including durability/ longevity and whole life carbon footprint it remains a valid choice. Sadly though, the powers that be disagree and will tax the behind off you should you ignore them and decide to buy one. Think about how that affects sales too. The reasons for people buying into electric-only are more due to the worries about particulates (valid and understandable), Nox (ditto), about government subsidies and about tax breaks making them suitable for urbanites and semi-urbanites who do relatively low annual mileages where cost of ownership may be lower over any given annual period. Not all of us want an electric only car (I certainly don't, at least not yet) and I'll be honest and say I only went hybrid because the car I wanted was still offered as a V6, and over the years, I have loved every 6 cylinder motor I've owned from my 1970's Triumph 2000TC through to recent cars like the BMW and Lexus models owned and because I wanted the extra grunt. We also have a butterfly-friendly Honda i-vtec and it wouldn't pull the skin of a rice pudding unless revved until the valves cry out for mercy. It was a decision of the head. A V6 is a decision of the heart as much as the head.
  6. 11 points
    Pic taken on our recent holiday to the Lot region in France. She does look good in that setting, way nicer than beside my 3 bed red brick semi in Essex 😃
  7. 10 points
    Another service and mot today at Lexus Reading, sailed through...
  8. 10 points
    For reason I won't go into, I went to the (VW) T-Roc forum the other day. Bearing in mind the T-Roc has been out for only about four months, there are probably 100 threads already cataloguing loads of faults, including clutch failures. Long live Boring Forums!
  9. 9 points
  10. 9 points
    Interesting question and one I weighed up heavily when I bought mine in August. I had a Mondeo st diesel, which did about 40mpg in the city. Desperately dull, never felt the urge to just get in it and just drive. For an extra £30 a month tax, I can drive something that makes me smile every time I start it. My fuel cost has doubled from about £80 a month to about £160. As for resale, I've been watching the prices on this forum since about 2014, and I'd say they've stabilised. You could probably buy one and pretty much get your money back a year later. I would say that the Lexus ISF is probably the most reliable V8 around. No rod bearing issues to deal with, no carbon build up to worry about, no head bolt issues. About the worst thing you may have to deal with is a water pump leak, which would have probably been addressed if you're looking at an 08 plate. V8s are a dying breed, I'd advise you to scratch the itch whilst they're still around and relatively affordable.
  11. 9 points
  12. 9 points
    To me it says :- I can think for myself, I am not a sheep. I value reliability and customer service. I am not concerned with what people think of me, I am happy to be different. I value craftsmanship and individuality as well as luxury. I am not a petrol head but enjoy a comfortable relaxed drive. I am part of the enlightened minority.
  13. 9 points
    3 Fs one M4 and the Isle Of Man. The result - some fantastic memories with awesome friends. Thank you @Mark G, @emjay82 and @Warrington guy This is how I recall the Isle Of Man 2018
  14. 8 points
    So in September last year I became the proud owner of a 2008 IS250, I love the car, it is a joy to drive and puts a smile on my face every time I travel in it. Over the last few months I have set about modifying and replacing parts here and there, so this is a description of what I have done so far Replaced all the LED's in the interior, going to replace the door mirror puddle bulbs when the weather is a little warmer Replaced the boot gas struts as they were on the way out Installed the Vland rear lights, what a difference they make to the car, brings the rear end bang up to date Replaced the door puddle lights with LED Lexus logo Finally, I had my interior trim pieces hydro dipped from the red/brown look to a black woodgrain the film is "Lexus woodgrain" which is supposed to be based on the modern Lexus cars, I really like the look it has given the car, it goes nicely with the black leather and trim, I have attached a few pictures of some of the work, let me know what you think.
  15. 8 points
    I was looking for a motorway muncher a while back to run alongside my Volvo AWD and after browsing Autotrader at various diesel VWs and Audis I ended up looking back at the world of Lexus and ended up with my 3rd. A quick update from my many years away from LOC - after selling the Aristo V300 due to getting a company car I ended up going through various hire cars from work (VWs, Peugeots, Vauxhalls, all sorts really). I bought a 2006 VW Passat and racked up over 60k in 6 months. I had a baby on the way at the time (6 years ago) and swapped the car for a VW Passat CC TDI GT which I drove all the way up to 200k before chopping in for the Volvo). Amusingly it took the wife over a week to realise I'd changed cars when I went from the Passat to the CC 😄 I live in the moors these days so bought a Volvo XC90 which has been flawless in bad weather wherever I've been, but unfortunately it triggers a shoulder injury I have from a few years ago and long drives (which I do a lot of) really take their toll. I fancied being back in a saloon so I get the best of both worlds - the Volvo for bad weather and shipping the kids around and I did a fair bit of reading and it seemed the LS460 was a pretty reliable motor assuming looked after properly which some hitting bonkers milage figures over in the USA and over here. I had traded in a 2008 VW Passat CC 2.0 TDI DSG last Christmas which hit 200k and was still like new inside and out - that was a great car and fared me well so I wasn't afraid of high milers. So I found one fairly cheap with ~140k miles which would be a nice easy intro back in the world of Lexus and help minimise shoulder problems for me. Full Lexus dealer service history with lots of parts replaced over the years including the seats replaced just 12 months ago and as part of the sale it had the usual issue with the control arms so I had those replaced and a clean MoT as part of the sale. I picked her up from SE London and it was a lovely trip home other than the TPMS warning flashing up on the dash all the way home, Luckily I had a Carista on hand so could see it was because the spare was missing and as the pressures were all ok I was happy to do the >200 mile drive back up North. All was fine and dandy until the car went in for a full service and geometry check at Lexus and it came back out with a PCS error which unfortunately took Lexus weeks to figure out working with Lexus GB and turned out to be the radar sensor failing while at the garage so it needed that replacing and the front Lexus badge. During that period I pretty much read the workshop guide cover to cover. On the plus side it didn't need the new brake disks or pads I'd bought so they've been put to one side. I've actually only had the car at home 4 weeks out of 8 weeks of ownership due to it being in the garage - it gets worse as this week it threw a brake pad warning when they all looked ok and turns out the cable at the loom side has been chopped off and the wires bodged to the other connector. It was fixed but while the garage had it they've damaged the front bumper on the yellow ramps so it's gouged to buggery as well as doing similar to the steering wheel which I'd only just sorted out 😕 FFS! They're not responding to my emails at the moment so I'm going to have to call in and see what they say - even more worrying was that there's a clip missing from the dashcam which suggests it was removed and then when they connected back up and took into the garage it was all talk of the car being "fast as f*ck" - hoping I won't be getting a ticket in the post soon and just proves you shouldn't trust feedback of a garage from Facebook these days. @abdallian will be very familiar with the car as he owned it previously which I'd pieced together from old posts before it went off to auction. In terms of work done since I've had it: New lower control arms 4 wheel geometry at Lexus Full major service at Lexus Latest 2017-2018 v2 E1G satnav disk New Yuasa Silver battery (I was trying to rule out voltage issues causing the PCS errors) Mixture of BG 44k and Shell V-Power to clear a couple of misfires logged on Techstream New front radar sensor (ouch!) New front Lexus emblem (picked up a spare I've got sat in the garage now too!) New spare wheel & toolkit (rolled my own TPMS scanner using an SDR I had sat here and used Carista to program it in). Lexus LED projection lights for the doors (the daughter loved the ones next door had on their new Peugeot so they were an eBay special) New clips to replace all the missing ones from years of removing the engine shields New uprated Osram Night Breaker Laser D4S HID bulbs (they need adjusting up still yet) Refreshed the headlight units with the 3M polishing kit and 3M clear coat New Lexus Sport LS460 gearknob from Japan as the old one was quite worn on the leather. Cleaned up the interior with Dr Leather products (they're excellent if you haven't used them before) A pass through with an odor bomb to remove smoke smell. Added a Raspberry Pi system for kids films for the daughter so she's got her own media setup Picked up some Lexus headsets (and it also works fine with third party headsets set to band A) Still to-do I've got a full deep clean valet booked in for January Get the wheels refurbished as they have the typical Lexus rot Get the paint tidied up - to be fair it was in pretty great condition for the age with marks on the bonnet and boot which look like a parking barrier has closed on it and now the front bumper has been mullered this week. I've been quoted £1k by a local guy with a great rep but he's fully booked until July 2019 😮 The car is showing a solar circuit issue which I think is the rear window demister as it's not the most efficient (it is 12 years old) Sort out a problem with a rear cabin temperature sensor I'm debating whether to fix the rust on the sunroof - it seems fairly common on the LS460 from what I've read. Thinking about a Grom V-Line 2 but hear mixed reports. I may just leave that alone and stick to media burned to disk as the factory Mark Levison system sounds amazing! A long post but pretty much covers the journey so far, it's been frustrating but touch wood things will settle down a bit now (please!) I've bought the full set of diagnostics since buying the car (I have a mistrust of garages from experiences over the years) so I always like to check that what they're telling me adds up. I started off with the cheap copy Mini VCI cable which turned out to be firmware 1.4.1 and couldn't handle various things so moved onwards and upwards through the VCX Nano and then finally a GTS OTC VIM which I've tested on up to the latest 2018 cars with the latest Techstream licensed from lexus-tech.eu (not the hooky version). I also bought a Denso Intelligent Tester 2 with oscilloscope probes when trying to figure out the PCS error but that's overkill for my needs so I'll be getting rid of that at some point now I have a reliable Techstream up and running - for now it comes everywhere with me as I'm not quite confident it won't throw another random error - I've seen more engine lights than I care to with this one! Fingers crossed for a bit of stability going forwards now anyway 👍
  16. 8 points
    So who would have this as a toy over the new one out later, we’ll im old and misty eyed about these things so this would be my choice..... Similar price to used Rcf’s https://www.pistonheads.com/regulars/ph-spottedykywt/toyota-supra-spotted/38943 Big Rat
  17. 8 points
    Hi folks, New to the site, have a 1JZ-GTE Soarer with auto trans, was a garden find that had been sitting 11 years!! She was covered in moss top and sides, which seems to have preserved the paint and stopped her from developing any rust. Underneath is also in excellent condition. I bought it as a non start and it was stuck in "P". The guy used it to tow his small 13ft sail boat, so needless to say it has a tow bar. 🤣 I eventually got it out of "P" in his driveway the morning the tow truck came (happy days), got it home and spent 4 hours washing it and it easily needs another hour or two spent on washing. I got a new battery for it, whipped off the timing belt cover to see a new Toyota T/Belt in place, however it has been there 11 years!!!. Once the battery was installed I turned ignition on to reveal a very low lit dash board. I cycled the ignition on and off a few times and with each time the dash started to brighten, a battery stabilization unit was put on and ignition was left on then for a while which seemed to help the electric start to function again. The following day I after leaving it on power for the night I rotated the engine by hand to make sure it wasn't seized then I cranked it over, although it had a very healthy turn over she would not fire (time to get out the multimeters and probes i guess😁). The fuel pump was not working at all, the alternator rectifier was shot and the FPC module was erratic at best. So with that a plan was made to remove and have the alternator reconditioned, a new AEM 380Lph fuel pump was ordered along with new Denso spark plugs, engine oil, oil filter and coolant. Parts arrived Friday just gone, so it was a fun filled weekend with one mission, to get her started!!. I flushed the rad out, which was pretty filthy it must be said, refitted the alternator and also the Denso plugs, then went about installing the new AEM 380lph fuel pump. There was a 1/4 of a tank of old fuel in her, I took some out and set it alight to see how quickly it would ignite. It ignited no problem so put everything back together, filled it up with coolant and cranked it over..... BOOM....1st turn of the key she sprung to life and idled very sweetly for 2 hours without issue. I then turned it off as it was getting late, i decided to make sure she would fire back up again, but when I went to turn it over it would not fire. So quick trip to diagnosis port to bridge "Fp & B+" terminals and then turn ignition on, pump kicked in and she fired up no problem at all. So left it at that as I knew where I was going hunting to find the issue on Sunday morning. Needles to say after some testing as suspected all along the FPC module was also passed its sell by date. So that pretty mucg brings me upto date so far. A new FPC module has been ordered as I like my cars to be right, I know I could bypass it and all that but I would rather it functioned as it should just in case. The list on this girly is going to be BIIIGGG!!!!! as expected for a car sitting outside idle for 11 years. But for now....I'm happy out with the progress 😉
  18. 8 points
    Hi everyone, I thought I should share with you my honest thoughts so far since I bought this car on 24thDecember 2018, after leaving BMW due to a number of issues that BMW failed to fix serious water leak with my former F10 series 5 (520D SE), and also due to the fact that this car was not ULEZ approved, I was determined to buy a more environmental friendly vehicle on my next purchase. I did not want to buy an pure electric car due to many ongoing issues with electric charging stations that are not been serviced in the UK, meaning there would always be a constant range anxiety in my mind and also, I did not want to buy a PHEV or pure electric car, where I would have to plug it for charging as somehow, the plugging is not a step in the right direction – in my honest opinion wireless charging would be a better option or self-charging like Hybrid. So it was no brainer that Lexus was to be my first choice to move away from BMW. Choosing the car Well, I had my eyes on an IS300 H (F sport) to start with, as I think, it is a good looking car, looking sporty from the exterior and inside, but having driven mid-size cars in the past few years like E class and 5 series, I thought it might still be too small (I am a big guy). So from browsing further, I then discovered that my local Lexus in Edgware Road was selling a nice white GS 450H (2014), with a fairly low mileage and its price was also reasonable. I then arranged a meeting with the salesman and was impressed with the quality interior and with the settings and options this car has, which were standard compared to BMW and Mercedes, which one would have to pay for extra options. I was very much interested in this vehicle and the sale was concluded, part exchanging my BMW and the service was done very smoothly indeed. They got the car ready for pick up on Christmas eve and I was extremely excited to be driving for the first time (as I did not do a test drive – I had read and viewed so many youtube videos that I was convinced it would be a perfect replacement car). Experience with Lexus – sales and after sales Staff have been extremely professional and were listening to my needs and have been rather exceptional from start to finish. For example, the car had some scratched alloys (which were minor when I bought the car as is), there was some minor paint work in the rear bumper that needed to be resprayed, the front headlights to be rebuffed as there was some smear marks on the glass and they took the car and gave me a courtesy vehicle for a few days so all the work was completed to full satisfaction. And the car was cleaned inside and outside. I had an issue with the battery running flat in early February 19, so I called Lexus road assistance and they attended at my house within 20 minutes and found that the battery had to be replaced. So the car was back at Lexus workshop and they had to order a battery within 2 working days, they unfortunately did not have a courtesy vehicle but the manager offered to take me home from the workshop and I truly was not expecting this, as I was ok to book a taxi from the workshop to go home (I also did not really need another car just for 2 days as my wife does have a car so I could cope accordingly). The staff were amazing to be honest and I commended them by email to Lexus for going for the extra mile assisting me – as I honestly do not think that Mercedes Benz nor BMW would have done this if I was in this position. The battery was replaced (free of charge) as part of the first 12 months warranty and the car was cleaned (inside and outside!). Now, my car is still due to be back at Lexus in order to replace the rear windscreen as some filaments were damaged by the previous owner who had done an aftermarket tinting. Again Lexus staff happily booked the vehicle to have the windscreen replaced under warranty and a courtesy vehicle will be provided. I know that there have been a few issues (not major) but I have full confidence with the team that the car will be looked after from start to finish (unlike my experience with BMW dealership) Exterior look design At first, I thought the GS model looks a bit too big, but when I saw the car in white with brown leather, it got me and I was sold and I am truly in love with this amazing Japanese machine. There are a few things that I think it really cool: first I love the fact that it is keyless, I keep the key in my pocket and the car unlocks when I put my hand in the door handle and locks when I pressed on the small gap of the door handle. At night, the side mirrors automatically lit when I get closer to the vehicle, which makes the experience truly unique and exciting to get in. The front grill is ok, at first I was not too keen or thought it lacks of sharpness or aggressiveness but it is forgiven with the LED lights, which look really cool. The doors are big and bulky and feels very solid and well-built. The rear looks fantastic – I love the rear lights and they look very stylish. My only criticism is that the rear trunk does not fully open when unlocking it and the button is not in the centre but located in the righthand side. The boot size is reasonable to be fair, the BMW 5 series (F10) has a bigger size boot but I can live with this acceptable size, and it is a wider boot compare to my previous car. Interior design I do think the leather is of higher quality than any leather seats I have had in all my previous cars (Mercedes and BMW) and you do feel you are seating in a rather high class vehicle and extremely luxurious but with simplicity ie not too many buttons. I love the fact that this car is fitted with some pads between the seats and middle console, which is so cool as I have in the past dropped money in the gap or drop my phone and this is a genius and simple idea that says a lot about Lexus. The comfort is superb and I love the fact that the seat and steering wheel automatically adjust when I turn the car engine on and off and when I put my seat belt on. It feels like we are in a cockpit ready to take off. The clock looks very stylish too and it is a great cabin to be inside when it is day or night time. I love the white glow all around and the dashboard looks very beautiful (when on Eco mode or Sport mode). Only one criticism is that the seat is maybe a bit too upright or maybe because I had a BMW car before and the sport seat adjustment allow you to bring it right down like a sport car. I understand that this Lexus model is not a sport car but more like a limousine car so I am getting used to the new height of my seat (even though it is adjusted to the lowest level). The visibility around is very good and the rear and front sensors including the rear camera makes the car very easy to manoeuvre around and in tight places. The sat nav and interface system is also a very good alternative than the previous systems I had with professional sat nav screen with BMW but, where Lexus beats BMW is where the following options are all standard (unlike BMW where you would have to pay an annual subscription and it does get quite expensive): emails and texts automatically received and can be read out when driving (you would have to pay this with BMW), speed limit notification, traffic prediction (you would have to pay this with BMW called RTTI) Bluetooth connection to allow spotify to be connected, DAB radio. The display is actually good enough to see clearly where you are going with the satnav and when it is used for directions, the system is extremely intuitive and I really like it. I do not mind the mouse on the console, contrary to quite a few negative comments some car journalists have said, I actually think it is very easy to use and anyone can get around it. You can adjust the sensitivity of it and so far, it runs really well. I also love the home button, which allows me to view at the same time what music I am playing with sat nav and air con. It is very clever indeed as I tend to leave in this home page most of the time, unless of course I use the sat nav. The driving experience It is definitely something else than I have driven before, the car feels tranquil and agile and the suspension are very soft (compare to the BMW) like silk and it is such a pleasant place to be when driving around. I could drive long distance and know that I will be fine and not have a backache. The car really is agile and turns around corners will well and strong. I love the way it drives you around and it reminds me of the rolls Royce (a friend of mine had an old Rolls Royce) how it drives. Engine (best bit, I think) Well before this Lexus and BMW, I had an E63AMG performance Pack with AMG W212 (E Class) and it was a 6.3L naturally aspirated engine and drove this car for nearly 3 years. I had lots of fun with it but the less fun was having to go to the petrol station every 2-3 days. It was mainly running at 10-15mpg in town (sometimes I could achieve 31mpg doing motorway trips). And the reason that I am mentioning this AMG car is that this Lexus reminded me of this car on motorway when overtaking – gosh it is really pushing and is a monster making a big noise with the engine – lovely sound I have to say. I absolutely love this engine and it works superbly in town and on motorway. In town, it drives well and silently a lot of times with the Hybrid running on Electric engine up to just under 40mpg and it is remarkable how they have achieved this blend between fuel engine and electric engine. It runs so smoothly and recharge the battery automatically that it actually encourages you as a driver to drive more sensibly and I have achieved so far 25.2mpg in town driving short trips and under 30mpg. On motorway, I achieved 38.1mpg and I am sure I could slightly improve this figure using the cruise control. On the whole, it is a car that I very much look forward getting into daily and it gives me the buzz and I feel that it is going to give me more excitement in months and years to come driving it.
  19. 8 points
    Just had mine detailed and ceramic coated by a great guy in Nuneaton.
  20. 8 points
    May have posted these before but they are two of my favourite shots of my car. Slightly compressed thanks to Google Drive.
  21. 8 points
    Good News! Just had a phone call from the Supplying Dealer to say that Lexus are going to replace all four wheels as the car is so new. They will be in touch again once the logistics are sorted.
  22. 8 points
    How’s it going everyone? First post for a while since the little man arrived 😀 back on the 28th September. All is going well and he’s safely back home now and coming along nicely. I’m enjoying some PAT leave and inbetween bottles of milk and bouts of screaming (mainly from baby Corey, sometimes from me!) I’ve had time to let my mind run away with me and have collected my next ISF upgrade from the local powder coaters today. I've been looking at wheel upgrades since I’ve had the car but nothing really set my pulse racing. I was looking through some old photos last week and found some pics of my R32 Golf (MkV) that I had fitted with Porsche Alloys. I properly loved the look and the fact that it was a relatively (at the time) rare set up. That set me thinking as to what other prestige brand wheels would fit the ISF and after a little research I found what I think will be an ace set up. I picked up the wheels on Saturday, dropped them off at the powder coaters the same day and picked them up today. I’ll be getting the tyres switched and the wheels fitted in the next week or so and I’ll add some more pics then. So, take a seat Dav! I’m not sure these will meet with your approval and the shock may take it’s toll on your delicate and brand focussed disposition! Here is is a little peek at my next wheels and yes, I intend to use the original centres! Controversial!! These are Aston Martin V8 Vantage Alloys, 19 x 8.5 front, 19 x 9.5 rears. They will fit the same as my OEMs with the 15mm H&R track spacers I’m currently using, the same flush outboard fitment but with an extra 0.5 inch of inboard fitment which is fine given the OEM wheels without spacers used to sit 15mm further into the wheel wells. These have been media blasted to bare metal then powder coated in BMW Metallic Orbit Grey. The centre caps are brand new genuine units. Who knew centre caps could cost that much! Hatemail to the usual address please!! 😀🤓😝 Enjoy!!
  23. 8 points
    Just taken delivery on of a new RX450H Takumi. Its my wife's car and she has been driving RX's since 2001.Started off with a RX300 and has had every model version since. The improvements over the years have been impressive and thanks to excellent reliability and service she will not even look at anything else. Have just had it fully protected inside and out by our local Valet guy who we have used for many years and is a bit of a detail fanatic. See pictures below.
  24. 8 points
    So Thursday morning I'm driving to work and the M25 is in carpark mode, so I come off at Sevenoaks and take the backroads. After passing a van that was doing 30 in a 60 limit I come round a gentle curve at around 50 and see white road. I ease out of the throttle but the rear end starts to slide, so I steer into it slightly and steer with the throttle. Thank god for a precise throttle and good steering feedback. After about 300yds of sideways action the white ended and grip resumed. Chances are the VSC helped but I never had time to look at the dash to see if the light came on. I pulled over into a layby and spent 30 mins waving people down and warning them about the ice and got to see a car and a van swap ends (they didn't slow down). Then the gritter turned up and did 2 runs so I continued on to work. Winter is here so stay safe people.
  25. 8 points
    I've recently switched over my 2008 OEM wheels after sourcing a set of 2012+ ISF OEM wheels from The States. Pretty happy with the outcome.....
  26. 8 points
    Thanks all. No, it's a used one - it's a 4th gen, pre-facelift. It's the only pre-facelift I've ever seen in the UK with the LED headlights rather than the Xenons. We went through a long process of selecting a replacement for the V70. We used to have just the one car, and there's not many cars that can match the V70 for doing everything (wafty cruise, practical load lugging, etc), but petrol V70s all come in at £500+ tax. However, last year we got the Leaf which does my commute and popping to the shops and I'm using to carry stuff when needed. The mileage dropped on the V70 and we started to look about for something a bit special to replace it (and get away from diesel). We looked at BMW and Mercedes (E-class coupe was favourite on paper) but came away very disappointed with the interior quality (look fantastic in pictures, cheap and nasty plastics to the touch), the comfort (awful seats in the E coupe, better in the saloon) and finding a petrol BMW or merc with standard (ie not sports, M-sport, AMG-line) suspension and electric seats was a proper needle in a haystack job. The only cars that impressed were the GS (and we were much more impressed with the NX in person than on paper, we liked the RX as well) and the Tesla S (which was only driven because I was interested - out of reach for now, and having now sat in a model 3 in the USA I'd prefer a 3). Husband isn't quite on board with having both cars electric (yet...) though. The more I learned about the engineering of the GS (I'm an engineer), the more impressed I became. The way that the Power Split Device in the Hybrid Synergy Drive works is such a beautifully elegant bit of engineering and it really appealed to me. It overcomes so many of the real problems of auto transmissions. It's interesting reading the reviews of the GS hybrids in the motoring press. As an EV driver I've long since come to the view that the motoring press are mostly clarksonesque dinosaur petrolheads who can't cope with change. Most of the complaints around the GS hybrid transmission come down to "the car makes a droning noise at full throttle" - see the Fifth Gear test for a good example of that. In the real world though you accelerate hard for only a few seconds. They all seem to miss the myriad advantages of the smoothness of acceleration (much more akin to an EV), lack of wearing parts like clutches or auto fluid, the lack of kickdown lag or turbolag (which is the main reason that my Leaf is quicker in the real world than most ICE cars around town - fast acceleration isn't much good if you have to wait a second to get to it as the car gets into the right gear and builds boost) and the ability of the GS450h to gear right down to ~1k rpm @ 100mph (there's an autobahn video that shows this). In other words, as far as I can tell from the engineering and my experience, the "e-CVT" (and half of their problems are down to calling it that) is actually pretty much superior to any other mechanical transmission in terms of driving characteristics, it's just the noise that people focus on. Drive with ear defenders on in two different cars and they'd come to a different conclusion. Way back in the late 90s my father was buying a new car (and I was in my late teens, just learning to drive). Even then the disparity between what the motoring press said and the reality was quite plain. My father's shortlist was the 7 series, A8, S-class, XJ8 and LS400 - the press loved the A8 and the XJ8 at the time. The S was the first to fall (the grosserwagen W140 was just too big, and needed the 5 litre to move (I should explain, my father had previously owned an S-type 3.8, Rover P6 3500 V8 and an XJ12 5.3 at various times - he demanded a certain level of performance)). The XJ8 was next, as the interior belied the car's very dated roots with a cramped cabin, short seat squabs and shallow boot. The A8 went down next as it was stupid - the 4.2 quattro was epically quick, but the ride and seats involved more concrete than compliance (fine for a sports car, not a luxury saloon). In the end it came down to the magical LS400 and the BMW 7 - in the end of the cars that were available at the time he went for a 740iL 4.4 as the mk4 LS400 was a bit out of reach and the mk3 was a bit off what the BMW was. However, the quality and experience of the Lexus always stuck with me. We did drive a 2nd gen GS300 at the time also. I think the 4th gen GS is a car he would have liked - it's also the same colour as his BMW was. Shahpor - I thought someone would be watching. It is the latter of the cars you mention. We saw yours on sale also - we've been keeping a close eye on them since July.
  27. 8 points
    Had a little clean up and photo shoot today, here’s the results;
  28. 8 points
    Small update, my valve covers are finally back! Good things come to those that wait, they have turned out fantastic! The pictures really do not do this colour justice at all especially the far away shot of the bay, the finish is flawless. The work was done by maldon shot blasting and powder coating http://www.ctc-powder-coating.co.uk/ there colour range is outstanding with alot of wild colours. Now i know its looks a bit disjointed at the minute but once its all done it will look great (in my opinion of course 😎) Brake calipers will also be this colour or very similar so it wont be the only orange bit on the car. Roll on black friday for some more parts
  29. 7 points
    Greetings, from slightly northeast (Sweden, land of vikings and such), just figured I'd make one of these fairly pointless posts ^^ I've found that this forum offers vastly more in regards of useful information than the Swedish equivalency, and thus here I am! I've already read and learnt a ton from crawling here the past few days. 🙂 Since me and the mrs put a second tiny human on this earth recently, and figured it was about time to move upwards size wise from our Audi A4 Avant (2006), we bought a lovely Lexus RX 400h Executive (2008) about 3 weeks ago. So far, I couldn't be happier, it's simply a tremendous drive as well as a joy to look at, and I find myself making all sorts of excuses just to take it for a spin. 😉 It also works tremendously well in fairly large amounts of snow (on snow tires, since that's legally required around here), which is useful since we live on a mountain, in the middle of a forest, on a dirt road. I must say that it carries itself very well indeed, compared to our Quattro Audi. The project of the past two or three days has been to create an audio DVD with mp3's that was still playable in the Mark Levinson DVD changer (since it doesn't support mp3 dvd's for whatever reason), something that turned out to be rather tricky since the recommended software was last updated in 2009, but somehow I managed! ^^ So, essentially, I just wanted to make my presence known, and thank you all for all the information I've already harvested from this lovely place! Looking forward to more of the same! 😉 Cheers! // Kristoffer
  30. 7 points
    Wanted to get the V6 plugs changed but everything I've read says it's a nightmare job, fiddly, 4 hours, difficult and v expensive😶 So bought the oem plugs from Lexus Birmingham on ebay, £70 instead of £100 plus from Dealer, and took the car off to two guys who've looked after my Lexus cars for more than fifteen years off and on. 1 hour later Pete and Lates have changed all six plugs using the 'remove wipers, arms and entire cowl but leave plenum/manifold in place' method 🙂 tbh I was stunned and impressed. Lexus book time for the job is iirc 4 hours. So quality work at a great price. What more do you want....? A few pics:
  31. 7 points
  32. 7 points
    My wife's brother in law is a 'Jaguar man' and passes his Jaguar club magazine on to me when he is finished. As a Jaguar sympathiser, I always look for a good read, but I am truly shocked at what owners say.....new wishbones, not too bad at £450 a side......new rear suspension bushes only £400 as if it is 'normal'. The most scary aspect is corrosion. My daughter has a 12 year old FIAT Panda with no corrosion. Yes, a FIAT. Yet, a £50,000 Jaguar F type (the E-Type replacement ) has a string of corrosion issues, such that members are screaming for Jaguar to act. They do not. Corrosion was solved by the bad boys of Lancia, Vauxhall, and Fiat in the late 1990's. That Jaguar still has an issue is really worrying. We however, just waft along quietly in quiet snobbery ......and why not?
  33. 7 points
    Things to look for... Service History - Look for Plus 60 (60k/6 year service) to check if that has been completed (including Spark Plugs) as that is the biggest service it needs (about £900 from Lexus). Check invoices (if available) to see if water pump has been replaced as that is the only real weakness on the ISF that I am aware of. If you get a chance to drive it, try both normal and sport mode. Normal mode the throttle has a dead zone for just cruising whereas Sport mode is instant throttle response. Snow mode.... I believe it has the E-Diff rather than mechanical LSD (you can tell from steering wheel. If it has blue section at bottom it has mechanical LSD). Other thing that's fairly common is the aux belt slipping a bit under hard acceleration. Mine has done this since the day I bought it 3 years ago and doesn't bother me. Quite a lot of them do it if you look on youtube at ISF's being launched. Squeaky front seats are a quick tighten with a 10mm spanner. The safety recall will more than likely be the passenger airbag recall. Day job completed by Lexus so no cost to yourself. Don't be surprised if front tyres are worn on inside. Common with most of them although mine wear evenly for some reason since I have had alignment completed by Wheel Alignment Specialist in Southampton. From the pics it looks like it has Conti Sport 6's all round so a good sign that previous or current owner has put decent rubber on it. If brake discs/pads look like they need replacing then a relatively cheap consumable if you get some Brembo or Pagid discs/pads from Euro Car Parts in one of their numerous 50% off all brake sales. The MOT history is a bit random... the parking brake efficiency is a common one. Mine is being adjusted before it's MOT next week when it has a 10 year service as well. My main concern is the unreadable mileage and the 45k mile jump in MOT between 2010 and 2012. Also with it being a 2009 then why would it need an MOT in 2010 (assuming new cars are still exempt from MOT's for 3 years). That kind of mileage and the gap for 2 years... Could have been a track day car for a company maybe? Would it need an MOT if it lived at a race track? If the Service History lines up and you can get it for 10k then you have got yourself a potential bargain. Also... Just notice the tailpipes don't look standard. They look like these are fitted... https://www.ebay.co.uk/p/for-Lexus-Is250-Is350-GS-LS-Is-f-ISF-Style-Custom-Muffler-Tips-Twin-Dual-Oval/1342371713?iid=152232848229&chn=ps So possible that an aftermarket exhaust has been installed. The standard tailpipes are over £400 a side from Lexus so you can understand why replicas would be fitted instead if previous tailpipes were discarded. HTH
  34. 7 points
    I was speaking to the service manager of Lexus Sidcup today and I happen to mention to him this car for sale. He told me that they aren't allowed to touch it for any work, even an oil change. For a service, the customer drops it off to the dealer, who then contact Lexus UK. Lexus UK send a covered car transporter down to take the car to Belgium, where the Lexus technical centre for Europe is located apparently. They then carry out any work before sending it back. I suppose if you can afford the LFA, you could just use one of your other cars in the meantime. Perhaps slum it in an Aston for a few days
  35. 7 points
    Hello everyone! Well I've lurked on this forum for far too long so today I have registered and here to introduce myself and our car. Should be picking up our 2017 Rx450h f-sport next week. It's f-sport white with rose interior (exactly the combo the wife wanted) , panoramic roof and protection pack. Being supplied by Lexus Edinburgh. Currently we have a 2011 Rx450h in white with black interior, it's an SE. A few cars ago we also had a 2003 (i think) RX300 SE. Looking forward to picking up the new car and the big jump in spec. No questions so far, a quick search on the previous posts has already answered my only query - pano roof /roof bars compatibility (dealer told me there was no way I should fit bars!). So thanks already!
  36. 7 points
    So here are a few of mine from this morning. Sun is out, but driveway is kind of half lit, so photos aren’t perfect! 😉
  37. 7 points
    out in the sunshine today 😎
  38. 7 points
    just picked her up from the detailers she is looking good for a 10 year old!!!
  39. 7 points
    My father used to own an MK2 Supra back in the day. It was black and i thought the fact that it had the retractable headlights made it the coolest car at the time.
  40. 7 points
    I would like to add to this thread with my experience of three years with a GS450h. Mine is red with light grey leather, and piano black wood. It had done about 104,000 miles when purchased from Lexus Woodford. It’s now on about 125k. It is an 07 SE-L so it has all the bells and whistles some of which later became options e.g. sun (moon) roof, PCS and ACC. I had the PCS kick in one day but fortunately that was the only time. I use the ACC all the time on motorways and dual carriageways. I could live without the sunroof but it is useful to leave it open if the dog is left in the car. It does not have the active rear wheel steering option which I have never seen. Driving experience As Odysseus as the start of this thread! I would only add that it might well stick to the road like glue round corners but I don't stick in the seat so I don't know how much it could be pushed. As Odysseus so eloquently put it "the car would rather you stopped being silly and drove properly". Mrs Trout says this too. I do many fewer miles than Odysseus and don't find the tank too small. The boot is small but I am good at packing. It encourages not packing stuff you don't need except when going to the tip. I am not moved by the shape which strikes me as bland. It does not attract attention even in red which is fine by me. I am very impressed by its 0.27 drag coefficient. My best mpg is 45 (Old Sodbury to Oxford): my worst 21 - all short journeys in town which usually gets about 30. On 150 mile runs I get 36 if cruising at the limits or 40 if I slow down a little and the traffic is light. Maintenance The car came with 1 year Lexus warranty which I extended a further two years when it ran out. The only issue I had was dampers - all four needed replacing. Three were original, one had only done about 50k. After a long exchange with Lexus and the warranty company we settled with me paying for two at £695 (with no LOC discount). When this work was done the wheel nuts were overtightened to the extent that the security nuts were destroyed getting them off. I bought some used Toyota ones off eBay for ~£12. These look stronger to me and have not given any bother. (Or been overtightened.) I raised the over tightening with the Lexus main dealer responsible. They did not hold their hands up to this saying "Our technicians are fully trained etc. etc." I went elsewhere for the last service I had whilst under warranty. LOC discount was given for both main dealer services. Now that my warranty has expired my service plan is the minor-plus-MOT every year (see below) with extra items like plugs specified by me. My garage/MOT place for the last 50+ years is now fully able to service hybrids so I have gone back to them for service after brief spell away for warranty compliance. They are excellent and I commend them to anyone who wants an indie and can get to Kidlington just north of Oxford. See http://www.summertowngarage.co.uk. No connection other than a happy customer for 50+ years. I had nothing else under warranty but have done some things myself. The passenger wing mirror stopped tipping down when reverse was engaged - a very useful feature. I took it apart following the guide on this forum. (The guide doesn't say best attempted on a very hot day or when you have heated behind the mirror with a hair dryer. I tried when cold but was afraid if I pulled harder the mirror would break. In hot weather it was easy.) Nothing seemed gunged up and the mechanism was more enclosed than the one on the guide which was possibly why. I cleaned, lubricated and reassembled. It worked. Sadly pride comes before a fall and it stopped again a couple of days later. I assume it must have been a bad connection somewhere as it started working without further intervention and still is. Cost - just my time. I replaced the reversing lights which were only slightly more effective than a Morris Minor starting handle with LEDs. A great improvement for £7 on eBay. Now <£5! I have not have sticking/seized callipers. Forewarned by this forum, I cleaned up the calliper pins and applied the Lexus approved grease (http://proslip.com. Again no connection other than a happy customer). One horn failed. I replaced it with one from a local car parts shop for ~£10. (There were much cheaper ones!). I have now replaced all four tyres but like bulbs this is an expected running cost. So are new discs and pads and I have done the fronts £94. The rears might need doing in a couple of years. Also expected are bulbs. I replaced both dipped beam HID bulbs. One was failing exactly as described in the Wikipedia entry on HID bulbs but I replaced both. Their envelopes were very darkened and the light output must have been well down. The replacement bulbs were £16 and have been fine for last two years. Other consumables have been a cabin pollen filter ~£6 at Halfords with discount, wiper blades ECP for £22, 2 x navigation maps (genuine not pirate copies) £24 and ~£30 from eBay. The TPMS batteries are still holding up which is good after 11.5 years. At present I have a very slight weep of oil and also of coolant. I'm carrying a litre of each to top up if required and may have to tackle the cause at some stage. We do all check our oil and coolant levels regularly don't we? I do now. Acknowledgements Whist I used to do most car repairs myself, six years of a Camry and then 10 of a Mk2 GS300 ownership doing nothing meant I got out of the habit. Cars got much more complicated too - perhaps only garages with sophisticated equipment can fix them now. However I was encouraged to have a go by this forum which is amazingly helpful. In particular I must especially thank Britprius. He is a mine of information and has offered great tips and advice. The cunning minor-service-plus-MOT service plan is his idea and is a fantastic money saver. Thanks John. John
  41. 6 points
    Well as a precaution I fitted a new Koyo radiator today. I must say the original looked in very good condition. The thing is, you just don't know what's going on inside with those four rubber o rings, so is it worth the risk? Still, at least it gave me the opportunity to replace the rubber transmission hoses, and discover the fluid is a nice bright cherry red. Not too much skin removed from my right arm either! £114 for the radiator, £26 for Toyota red coolant and £10 for the hoses.
  42. 6 points
    Here's a little video from a recent breakfast meet/mini blat in Wales with some fellow Lexus owners and other marques. Following the success of the day we're hoping to get others involved. Please let me know if you're interested.
  43. 6 points
    So my PCP was nearly at an end on my RX450h and it has gone back to Lexus. Interestingly 'We Buy Any Car' offered me more money than Lexus. Lexus offered either a nominal payment to me or a small amount as a p/x against another Lexus. With the info from WBAC I was able to negotiate a better deal from Lexus, I am glad as I didn't like the thought of it not gong back to Lexus. So worth checking if your PCP is nearly up. If anyone is looking for a used RX450h I can recommend mine, it never caused me a moments worry, sailed through her services & MOT and has extremely low mileage (message if you would like more info). Very sad to see her go, my third RX (RX350/RX400h/RX450h) now deciding on the next car as OH has just got a 4X4 so don't need another new RX, but I am going to miss it. Luckily have an IS250C to drive in the meantime, so I can legitimately stay on here!
  44. 6 points
    With a saddened heart and mainly because of financial a financial situation I've had to say farewell to my RX450h today. I didn't want any more car finance so now I'm better off a few hundred quid a month. So I'd like to thank all here who I've encountered chats with. To those I may have helped and to those who have helped me you are a good crowd. I'll keep popping by to see how things are. I've gone back to Ford. Yes I'm a lover of Ford's and I'm back with my 3rd Titanium X Sport model which I know well. Blimey it's got more kit than my RX did. Adaptive cruise is astonishing absolutely brilliant. A superb safety feature. Anyway don't shout at me lol. Take care all and enjoy your fabulous cars.
  45. 6 points
    We dont need V8's, takeaways, Sky TV, foreign holidays etc. Make a decision based on how much you want the experience of driving and owning a V8. In my opinion, the cost of ownership isn't obscene and only represents a little indulgence in return for a wonderful thrill.
  46. 6 points
    I actually had the pleasure (?) of meeting him a few years back at Gumball. I’d have to say that despite what everyone thinks, when you meet him in person he is just actually much more of a bell-end than he appears to be on the videos. Complete helmet. Never judge a book by its cover, read a few pages before you throw it out of the window of a moving train into a tar pit. Turn the volume off and his videos are pretty good.
  47. 6 points
    New wheel colour deserved a quick pic!
  48. 6 points
    Five months and 4,000 plus miles later and this car exceeds my expectation of a Lexus. I thought I'd owned most of the cars I ever wanted excepting a Bentley and Lexus was last on my bucket list apart from the big beast. Wow, did I leave the best to last? Amazing motor, fuel consumption much less than the three litre diesels, performance to manage any road condition through a terrific transmission setup. The seats are the best ever, Toyota was my previous best so no surprise with the Lexus. Better than any of the Mercs, Jags or BMW's by far.
  49. 6 points
    Sorted! In the interest of completion for any future searches (a lot of threads I found had no conclusion), the issue turned out to be knackered dizzy caps. This also took out one of the coils so they've been replaced too. Happy man!
  50. 6 points
    Just wanted to say it is useful when ads for cars are posted as it makes it easier to find info on it as well the historical price of the car.




  • Newsletter

    Want to keep up to date with all our latest news and information?
    Sign Up