Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Lexus Noob Needs Advice. - Is 250 And 220D

Hello all. I'm a Lexus noob and have done plenty of research but would really appreciate some direct advice from you guys.

I've had an A4 cabriolet for the past three years which has been a pleasure to drive but really not so good in the reliability area. The reason I'm considering a Lexus now is mainly because I want something that will work with my family (we have a nine month old baby), reliable and with a bit of luxury. The AA guy that came out to fix my A4 (yet again) said Lexus were very good, and he rarely sees them, especially the petrol models.

I'm a bit jaded by the usual German premium brands.

I live in London, do 8-10k miles per year, some short trips, work and school runs etc, then longer trips around the country at the weekend.

I don't carry massively heavy loads often.

I have £7000 to spend on a used IS. I'd like to hear from anyone who could give me some advice about what might be a good buy. Top of the list at the moment is the is250 se-l which looks great, and has plenty of toys.

Do you guys think the 250 petrol would be a better bet for me than the 220 diesel?

What kind of real mpg can I expect from the 250? Is the boot space adequate?

I'm slightly confused about what the 'sport' model is too.

And would I be able to get something nice for the money I have?

Thanks all, much appreciated.

dom

You'll get a cracker for £7k if your patient and don't rush in. See plenty of examples before you purchase.

I'd get a 250 SE-L if it were me. You might even be able to get one with the multimedia package for £7k but it'll prob have a slighty higher mileage... Say 70k+