Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Advice Needed - Abs System

DeanMoreland

Hi All, I wonder if anyone could give me some advice/pointers on a problem with my ABS system. Just got the car back from an insurance repair yesterday and when I took it out for a spin the ABS warning light and Traction lights started flashing. Added to this - when you brake - even at 10Mph - the car comes to a stop - but immediatley following this the pedal drops about 1 inch and the car seems to jolt forward very slightly. Happens about 90% of the time. If I send it back to the insurance company and they say its not their problem (despite them having the car for the last 6 months), I have only 11 days before my warranty expires. Has this even happened to anyone else? Forgive me, but I am not very technically minded when it comes to car mechanics! :)

Cheers in advance, Dean

The car had offside damage to the rear wing (after hitting a lampost in a spin) - apparently they rebuild the suspension on the offside - replaced the drive shaft and sub frame(?) - also replaced the rear bumber, boot, boot floor, and near side wing as it was knocked out of alignment. Actually they did most of this twice, as the first repair was very poor. Thanks, Dean

Hi Dean,

Sorry to hear of your problems. So many people seem to have problems with insurance repairs!

With the engine turned off pump the brake pedel a few times to get it firm and then hold the pedal down for 30 seconds. If the pedal starts to move down you may have a leak in the system. Also check the fuild level to make sure it hasn't dropped.

It does sound like the brakes need bleeding and I would take it back to the repairers and insist they fix the problem. In fact I wouldn't drive the car as it sounds dangerous so make them come and pick it up.