Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Hi,I'm a lexus newbie and I'm looking to buy a GS300 not sure which spec (poss Sport).

My budget is peanuts compared to what a lot of you guys spend but I'm allowed :winky: to spend £5500-£7500.

So I guess it's going to be a 94-96 model.

So now for the big what should I be looking out for when buying?

I have enquired about a couple with so called FSH but when I asked about cam-belt changes etc... Things went a little quiet and a few dunnos were muted.

Should I expect a service history to report a cam belt change if it's been done?

Expecially on an 80,000m (am I right in thinking it should be done at 63,000m)

All help will be appreciated if you've got one for sale in my budget feel free to mail me.

Adam

You say £7,500 is the top of your budget. That's enough to buy you an R reg (1998) Mark II face-lifted model, albeit with higher than average miles.

I've seen a number of cars on Autotrader and elsewhere with, say, 90,000 miles listed for £8,000 or less. After haggling, £7,500 or less should buy them. And many of those are SE's with the much-needed leather interior.

Admittedly, most are private rather than dealer adds. But if the service history checks out there've got to be worth a look.

But maybe you prefer the Mark I shape.

Youwannalexus, now you should getyourselfalexus :driving:

Oh, about the cambelt,

Just look up the service book (if there is one) and see what, if any, dealer stamped the book around the 60 to 70k miles mark. Look up that dealer's number, ring them, give the reg and just ask if they did it.....

Happy hunting!

Also, check out the "knowledge" on this site...some useful stuff there

I'm only new here too, but there seems to be plenty of expertise here

have you looked at the equivilent BMW 5 series? sorry to be controvertial but, it seems to drive firmer and give better MPG. Anyone else find that the case?

(duck and cover)