Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Changing Front Lower Suspension Ball Joints

Mark Bradley

Hi All,

Just received news from the local lexus dealer that my IS200 W-Reg 2000 has failied it's MOT upon and I quote "Nearside/Offside front suspension joint has excessive play in lower suspension ball joint".

They also kindly quoted to repair as you'd expect, costing £271.38!!!

I've sourced the parts already from a local supplier who can get them ordered for pickup this time tomorrow at just £40 plus VAT.

Now my father-in-law and I aren't afraid of getting ones hands dirty, so would appreciate any information, instruction and or guidance as to whether or not we should do ourselves, how it is done, how easy/hard it is, any pitfalls, additional equipment/tools that are essential, etc, etc.

Cheers Mark "Maddog" Bradders

I have never done this on an IS before but I think the ball joints come complete with the suspension arms. In which case you will need a ball joint breaker to remove the joints and arms and the new ones should just bolt back in again. If the ball joints come seperate all together then I think they will need to be pressed in and out using a hydraulic press.

Someone who has done it will tell you for sure though.

The lower ball joints bolt onto the bottom of the hub with a couple of bolts. You will need a ball joint splitter to seperate the ball jount from the bottom arm, and a breaker bar with a socket to fit the bolts that connect to the hub. That should be it I think. I've seen a walk through with pics somewhere (not neccesarily for an IS but the setup was the same) but can't remember where though.