Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

• Join The Club

Join the Lexus Owners Club and be part of the Community. It's FREE!

Hi! Newbie Here! Having Problems With Ls400! Missing And S

MARKMCD

Sorry to be asking for hard earned precious knowledge just after joining the site, but yous are the only guys that can help. I work at cars in Northern Ireland here and I play about with skylines a bit, so maybe we can trade a bit with info!!! :D

To be honest I am having trouble with my mates LS400. The car doesnt want to idle, and it wont take the throttle at all. It would mind you of a dead MAF.The engine management light burns constant. First thing I did was plugged the car using the hanatech(tried both connectors)and the car would not go through the diagnostic sequence? I then tried bridging out the wires at both diagnostic links and still no sequence. One thing I noticed is when you turn the ignition on the management light doesnt come on until you crank the engine!!! It could be something simple but the mangement lights actions are giving me the idea of wiring or ecu?

Hello and welcome to the LOC.

You really need to get the codes out of the system,have you followed the correct procedure in the link below?

http://www.lexls.com/tutorials/intro/codereading.html

As you say it could be a number of things including the IACV, TPS and Throttle body but you need to narrow the options down with a code read 1st.

Are the cats overheating? there have been frequent reports of failed coils on the earlier models.