Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Old Computer Games

Redsteve

Hello Guys.

I hope you all had a nice Christmas and I wish you all a good New Year.

This is a bit of a long shot but I was wondering if anyone on the forum knows anything about MAME (faithful reproductions of the old arcade games)?

Recently the hard drive in my PC fried itself and I had to have a new one. While the guy that did it got most of the stuff off the HD he didn't manage to get the bit of MAME which runs the games. I have the games on discs but without the missing files they won't work. A friend that I am no longer in touch with installed it on my PC a few years ago and now I don't know exactly what I am looking for to replace it.

I thought that someone out there might know where I can get the files I need and then, what to do with them (I am no computer expert).

I hope someone can help me.

Thanks in advance.

Steve.

That looks like the right place for the software.

Talking of classic games,I had a Nintendo N64 in the other day for repair.

I couldn't even remember this model but it had a detachable power supply and I was able to get it all working again.

Thanks for the response Guys.

I have followed the link to the MAME site and downloaded the relevant emulator. Now I have it the games still don't run. I am sure I have to do something with it or the game files. When my friend installed it on my PC many years ago it took him several hours of moving stuff about. As I said in the original post, I am no computer expert and I really don't understand the dark art of telling one bit of the PC to talk to another bit.

If there is anyone out there that can talk me through it in idiot proof instructions I would be most grateful.

Thanks once again.

Steve.

Never used it myself, but I would guess that the apps ( "old games" ) need to be in a subfolder of the folder for MIME on the c: drive.