Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

• Join The Club

Join the Lexus Owners Club and be part of the Community. It's FREE!

Is200 Atf Fluid Change Questions

coolspot

firstly has anyone used Castrol transmax dex iii multivehicle in their is200?

i have a 2002 is200 se auto.

i plan to do a fluid change this weekend (never done one before), fuid gone blue/green and steering very heavy when cold, but seems to get ok after driving for 20mins or so.

i was hoping to do fluid change the easy way by sucking fluid out of the resovoir and then entering new fluid, then turning the engine on so it pumps through the system. then suck out that lot and top up each time, turn on the engine each time after topping up, suck out and repeat til it starts going pink.

im no mechanic and i saw this on youtube; a guy doing this on his subaru, just thought i would ask the experts on here first.

please tell me if the above will work, and if not, the easiest way to do a fluid change diy style.

thanks

• 4 weeks later...

Power steering fluid bleeding:

1. Fill the powersteering fluid reservoir to max line with the recommended fluid
  2. jack up the front of the vehicle and support it with stands
  3. With the engine off turn the steering wheel from lock to lock several times
  4. Lower vehicle
  5. Start engine
  6. Turn steering wheel to full left lock and hold for 3 seconds then full lock right for 3 seconds and repeat the process several times
  7. Stop engine
  8. Check for emulsification (if theres signs of emulsifiation repeat the bleed procedure and check for any leaks in the system
  9. Finally check and top fluid level up if necessary to max line (do not overfill)

Hope this helps.

• 3 weeks later...