Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Replaced my leaking rad and now the water not circulating, everything hot except bottom rad hose and rad and the heater, i filled it slowly while engine running to try and avoid air locks.

The water pump has no play and not leaking so not sure why that would not be working!

But its getting hot within minutes of driving and steam from rad cap when released

Any help would be great....

I'm no mechanic but try putting the internal heater to it's hottest setting. There might be an airlock around there. I had a problem when flushing out the system on my old Cavalier and putting the heater to full must have allowed the coolant to recirculate round the whole system and thus get rid of the air lock.

definitely sounds like air lock to me.

Have you got any ramps or other method to raise the front of car?

Then undo rad cap, and start engine- topping up as required.

Are you filling it through the radiator or the expansion bottle? You seem to suggest you're using the radiator itself - the expansion bottle is usually the highest point in the system, so try putting more in that?

expanision bottle full, so top it up through rad.

Checked for airlock in matrix with a hose in both pipes and it flows perfectly through it both way, so looks like water pump gone, pressure does build in top hose though so maybe thermostate jamming partly open as it does allow some water through it. hoping h/gasket not gone too !

In theory, if you take the rad cap off, run the engine and rev it, water should shoot up out of the rad if the head gasket is gone and cylinder pressure is getting into cooling system. If head gasket has gone through water/oil path instead, then water in oil would show up.

If the rad hose is staying cold all the time, I would suspect that the thermostat is stuck shut and would be the easiest bit to check next.

Good luck.

So even if thermostate jammed shut, you should not get water shooting out rad ? !