Jump to content

  •  

Show
Photo

How To Make Factory Nav Screen Work W/o Factory Hu


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 AndreyElansky

AndreyElansky

    New Club Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Lexus: Altezza Gita
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 04 February 2009 - 07:01 AM

Problem: after replacing the OEM head with an aftermarket one the factory screen stopped working. It had a black screen and like went crazy doing constant opening and closing.

This has been solved by using 3 resistors and 2 diods.

Full solution with pictures here.

I hope this would be useful.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 sparkystav

sparkystav

    Outlawed member?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,411 posts
  • Lexus: 2001 IS200 Sport 1ggte Turbo
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 04 February 2009 - 02:24 PM

This putting Fargo out of business?

Does it still work the sound though?

#3 redz_UK

redz_UK

    Lexux TRD

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,476 posts
  • Name: lex
  • Lexus: IS200 Sport Navigator
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 04 February 2009 - 02:38 PM

This putting Fargo out of business?

Does it still work the sound though?


depends on if people want to make the circuit up and cut wires on the original loom as he supplys with the molex plug i think?

if you dont mind cutting stuff then people may try themselves.. its just like the amp bypass lead, you can make it or save the time and hassle and buy one. dont think hes out of business yet!

the sound routes through the amp directly if i remember correctly..

even with fargos box you still tap into the speaker lead in the footwell.. tis how i did it..

#4 Yeldarb

Yeldarb

    Club Post Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,182 posts
  • Lexus: 3S200 GTE
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 04 February 2009 - 04:50 PM

This putting Fargo out of business?

Does it still work the sound though?


depends on if people want to make the circuit up and cut wires on the original loom as he supplys with the molex plug i think?

if you dont mind cutting stuff then people may try themselves.. its just like the amp bypass lead, you can make it or save the time and hassle and buy one. dont think hes out of business yet!

the sound routes through the amp directly if i remember correctly..

even with fargos box you still tap into the speaker lead in the footwell.. tis how i did it..


I have only just put fargos box in and all I did was connect it to the old sterio plug, no cutting, soldering at all and it all works 100%.

#5 Fargo

Fargo

    Im the only skydiver in the village

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,844 posts
  • Lexus: Supra TT Import
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 04 February 2009 - 05:53 PM

LOL only took 4 YEARS for someone to come up with a solution, and a lone russian at that lmao, certainly i will be reducing my price now.

Nav voice will work if you JUST replace the headunit leaving the original wires in place.
If you add amps etc, then yes you will need to re-route some wires to get the voice back to the drivers speaker wireing diagrams available on my web.

#6 sparkystav

sparkystav

    Outlawed member?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,411 posts
  • Lexus: 2001 IS200 Sport 1ggte Turbo
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 04 February 2009 - 06:03 PM

Out of interest Fargo is thats a similar method to your box? or have you a different way?

Stav

#7 Fargo

Fargo

    Im the only skydiver in the village

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,844 posts
  • Lexus: Supra TT Import
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 04 February 2009 - 06:10 PM

i have a different way..

#8 AndreyElansky

AndreyElansky

    New Club Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Lexus: Altezza Gita
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 05 February 2009 - 01:17 AM

I didn't mean to put anybody out of business. There are people who like only to "plug and enjoy" and others, who want to investigate and solve.
It's a choice anyway either not to waste time and buy or make it yourself.

Everything else is working except TV module. I'm in process of solving. Does anybody have a schematic for those?

... and a lone russian at that lmao...


Fargo, what's lmao by the way?

#9 Fargo

Fargo

    Im the only skydiver in the village

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,844 posts
  • Lexus: Supra TT Import
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 05 February 2009 - 07:39 AM

Laughing My Arse Off... its the upgrade to LOL.


Dont worry about putting me out of business, really im not bothered in the slightest, its pocket money and not my main income..
I think the americans are 'annoyed' as there self proclaimed mobiletronics guru never worked it out..

I'll have a look at my wiring diag see if i can find anything for you..

#10 redz_UK

redz_UK

    Lexux TRD

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,476 posts
  • Name: lex
  • Lexus: IS200 Sport Navigator
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 08 February 2009 - 05:49 PM

tried and tested today.. no ground is needed..

:D

#11 Rabster

Rabster

    Established Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 849 posts
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 08 February 2009 - 05:51 PM

sounds good this should bring the cost of nav conversions down then lol

#12 AndreyElansky

AndreyElansky

    New Club Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Lexus: Altezza Gita
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 09 February 2009 - 01:07 AM

tried and tested today.. no ground is needed..
:D


if so, then probably it would work with 68 ohms resistor only for pins tx+, tx-...

#13 shams

shams

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Lexus: lexus is200
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 15 March 2009 - 09:39 PM

Laughing My Arse Off... its the upgrade to LOL.


Dont worry about putting me out of business, really im not bothered in the slightest, its pocket money and not my main income..
I think the americans are 'annoyed' as there self proclaimed mobiletronics guru never worked it out..

I'll have a look at my wiring diag see if i can find anything for you..


Hi. Whats the prices on your fargo boxes?

#14 sparkystav

sparkystav

    Outlawed member?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,411 posts
  • Lexus: 2001 IS200 Sport 1ggte Turbo
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 15 March 2009 - 09:43 PM

PM Fargo and ask.

#15 hodaz

hodaz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • Lexus: IS200 SE
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 01 August 2009 - 03:22 PM

Just to let everyone know did this today and it definately does work. Big thanks to Anders for posting it up.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have