Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Can Phantom

Brian R

46 minutes ago, Brian R said:

Has anyone tried/considered this: Can Phantom

Looks pretty good to me and might well delay/prevent car theft. I'd be interested in any experience or view on this product.

Well, I have no experience of it but it looks like a copy of the Ghost system.  In fact, were I marketing it, I might even be tempted to do a comparative analysis if it actually had any competitive benefits over the Ghost.

And if it hasn’t, then what’s the point of it?

I actually like the premise of the Ghost system, but its detractors claim it is vulnerable to CanBUS attack.  The Can Phantom doesn’t appear to address this problem at all.  I can find no mention of how it defeats this method of bypassing its security.

The other point that occurs to me is the repeated claim that they will ‘Guarantee’ your car against theft.  What form does this ‘Guarantee’ take?  What conditions do they apply?  Will they replace a customer’s stolen car with a like-for-like equivalent?  Or compensate the loss with a cash payment?

I also think some costing examples would be useful.

PS:

Since writing the above, I have discovered a comparison in the blog section:

https://www.can-phantom.com/post/can-phantom-vs-ghost-immobiliser-which-is-the-best-aftermarket-immobiliser-for-your-car-2023-2024

But it still doesn’t clarify how it is superior to the Ghost, merely claiming that it is.  As it happens, they don’t have an Installer anywhere near me - and don’t appear to offer mobile installation.

• Like 1

Thanks, Len. I've just looked at the "Ghost" system and as you say, the Phantom looks like a copy and even down to its pricing.

Perhaps not the ultimate solution unless there are hidden strengths not well covered in the firm's web site.

• Like 1

6 hours ago, Brian R said:

Perhaps not the ultimate solution unless there are hidden strengths not well covered in the firm's web site