Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Hi,Newbie here

Just brought a 98 gs300 mk2 with 110k on the clock. Love the car but find it a bit jiggly on the road,previous car was a saab with quite a firm ride.Since having the gs300 i have been getting back pain (sob story)I was wondering if perhaps new shocks might firm up the ride a bit and offer me a bit more comfortable drive. Have any of you guys fitted new shocks and at what mileage would you say they should be replaced, i suppose at 110k there's a fair chance the original shocks are a tad worn. I have seen some gas shocks in the US kyb gy-2 , anybody tried these, any help advise most welcome.

Redlex.

In general, there is no fixed interval for replacing shocks, unless they are leaking. An easy check for worn shocks is to push down hard on each corner of the car and see how many times the car bounces up and down.

Have you checked the tracking? It's highly likely that your suspension bushes are worn significantly worn, given your mileage. Replacing these bushes at this point in time is likely to firm up your ride to factory standards.

See my response earlier to the "knocking noise" post, as that will help you. Get the car's suspension checked out thoroughly.

I replaced all the shocks on my 98 MkII at 98K, mainly as there were problems with uneven tyre wear. My friend who did the work said that when he checked them after removal, only one of the shocks was in need of replacing. The replacement shocks were KYB's. The ride is now marginally firmer which is not what I personally wanted. I'm not sure that new shocks will solve the 'jiggly' ride problem as this may be a 'feature' of the GS, others may be able to comment.

Yes the GS doesn't ride that well for the type of car it is. New shocks probably won't fix the issue unless you go for a complete new coilover springs/shocks replacement.