Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

No Power To Head Light?

Hi Everyone..

I'm a newbie lexus driver and a newbie poster on the forum i think so be gentle..Lol,

Right last week i discovered my driver side headlight unit was condensing up with quite a lot of moisture inside, but my lights were working fine both main halogen and parking light, couple days ago now my halogen light went so i ordered a 40 quid one off of eBay and ventured into the bonnet to replace it.

Now it would seem you need the hands of a woman to try and change any of the light as they seem to have very very very small gaps i order to work in, so i came on the Lexus forum and read its easier to remove the air filter box and this would allow more room which i did, i whipped out the old bulb, stuck in the new one, switch on and..... nothing, no halogen, and now no parking low light either, i have fog light still and the headlights on the passenger side are working fine.

I came back on the forum this morning and read up and it maybe a case of a blown fuse, so i checked this afternoon and both 15 amp fuses in the engine compartment are fine, so now i'm a bit stumped, do i admit defeat and call the lexus garage? or is there something i've missed??

oh my lexus is a 2006 IS220d

Any feed back would be really help full, only had her 3 months now...Lol;

Hello and welcome to the LOC.

When you say halogen do you mean HID? just seems a lot for a standard bulb if it isn't.

One thing to try is swap the bulb from the working side to the side that doesn't and if the original bulb looks OK also try this in the working side, this will at least eliminate faulty bulbs.

You really need to confim which type of bulbs are fitted as the set up with HIDs involves a high voltage ballast.