Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

12v battery

glynp01

Just to let you CT200h owners know I have been having an issue with high fuel consumption I.e 33 mpg at best and being an ex mechanic I was looking to sort this problem out myself but alas after quite a few attempts I decided to go to my local Lexus dealer and speak to one of their mechanics, I was in fact quite shocked by what he told me, the first thing he told me was to check my 12v Battery was good, this I did and found it to be defective he then said because their was a cell or two down in the 12v Battery this would keep the engine running considerably longer in order to try to fully charge it without actually being able to. Anyway I have now replaced my 12v Battery and Abracadabra back up to 53 mpg around town so one happy chappie. One worth knowing for future reference for all Lexus owners.

• Like 5

I'm sure there's some truth in this but I'm not quite sure it's wholly true.

When you disconnect the old Battery the ECU will forget your driving style and will have to relearn it, so the apparent increase in MPG may be a 'settling in' period until it gets used to you again.

Also, a conventional car will indeed run the engine more, and consequently the alternator, to try to charge the Battery. However, our hybrids don't have an alternator and the engine doesn't run all the time. As soon as the hybrid system is in READY mode, our 12V batteries receive approximately 14.5V via a DC/DC converter, which is our equivalent of the alternator (but obviously not dependent on rotational speed for electrical output), and is powered by the traction Battery.

In other words, it's not the engine that charges our 12V Battery but the traction Battery, and that get's its charge from regenerative braking (which there will probably be a lot of around town), although the engine will sometimes cut in to charge it up if not enough braking is taking place.

• Like 3

2 hours ago, Herbie said: