Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Aftermarket Amp Recomendation Or Harness

Sorry, its a long one, but i'm totally clueless.

Please help me. Im kinda new to all the audio stuff, all I want to do is put my Pioneer headunit into my Altezza!!!

My Altezza with an 18pin audio connector on the car. I was wondering if you knew of any Toyota/Lexus harnesses that I can use to fit my aftermarket Pioneer headunit, so that I don’t have to replace my amp and run new wires. I was looking for an adapter like the ones on autotoys.com

At worst, I was thinking that I should be able to do the audio in mod (As shown here) and connect this up to tha amp output of the headunit, and just take teh power/ACC & ground from the stock harness. Has anyone don this already??

I have an 8 speaker system.

If I do have to replace my amp, what kind of amp do I need? (forgive me for this, but do I need 8 channels for 8 speakers, 6 channels for 6 spoeakers and so on??)

I’d rather not replace the speakers too, but I understand that I might have to replace the rear shelf ones as they have a woofer installed too. For example, can I choose an amp with a built-in low-pass crossover, just to drive the woofers in the speakers?

So, can the new amp drive all the speakers? If not, will I have to replace the front speakers as well as the rear?

Weill I need to replace the front tweeters?

Can I not just get an amp with two extra channels (or woofer outputs) and connect them up to the amp?

If I really, really do have to get an amp, what make/model do you suggest?

So to cap it all.

1. Is there a harness available for the 18pin connector, or can I modify an existiong one?

2. Can I install the headunit without replacing the amp?

3. If I replace the amp, will it drive all the speakers?

4. If not, what speakers do I need to replace?

6. What amp do people suggest?

Please help!!!

russellg

1. Is there a harness available for the 18pin connector, or can I modify an existiong one?